Skip to main content

ESU Theatre Presents ‘Urinetown: The Musical’ for Homecoming Production

Emporia State University Theatre presents Greg Kotis and Mark Hollmann's “Urinetown: The Musical” for this year’s Homecoming scholarship fundraiser. Performances are on Oct. 21, 22, and 23 at 7:30 p.m. and Oct. 24 at 2 p.m., with options for both in-person attendance and livestreaming. Actors will perform unmasked before masked live audience members.

This award-winning satire targets capitalism, social irresponsibility, tribalism and corporate greed. Audience note: “Urinetown” contains depictions of violence, and the satirical humor may not be understood by younger audiences — we recommend this production for audiences ages 16 and up. Content-sensitive patrons should contact the theatre office with any questions.

“We are thrilled to invite folks back in person (and via livestream) to our annual Homecoming Musical. This annual theatre scholarship gala event was canceled last year due to COVID, but this year we are throwing the doors wide for all (masked) audience members to join us at the Bruder Theatre,” said Dr. Pete Rydberg, director. “‘Urinetown: The Musical’ is set in a dystopic future where precious natural resources have been squandered, and the only recourse to preserve enough water for survival is by banning private toilets. It is a world where corporate greed rules, where the masses are oppressed, and where — miraculously — seeds of dissent blossom into full-blown revolution! A satire as shockingly funny and tragically serious today as it was 20 years ago when it first premiered.”

Advanced tickets go on sale Oct. 4; general admission opens Oct. 11. Reservations can be made at, by calling (620)-341-5256 or in person between 9:00 am and 4:00 pm weekdays on campus in 201 King Hall. Individual tickets are free for Emporia State University students and are available day of show in 201 King Hall or in the King Hall lobby at the box office one hour before curtain. Livestream passes can be purchased at [Keyword: Emporia].

The cast includes Ian Malcolm, senior from Emporia (Officer Lockstock); Allison Jones, senior from Waterville (Penelope Pennywise); Corey Mann, senior from Kansas City (Bobby Strong); Christine Pascoe, senior from Overland Park (Little Sally); Brennan Ryan, freshman from Emporia (Dr. Billeaux and Billy Boy Bill); Ray Keady, junior from Emporia (Mr. McQueen); Brogan Falls, senior from Leroy (Senator Fipp); Logan Trask, freshman from Spring Hill (Officer Barrel); Brenna Welch, senior from Derby (Hope Cladwell); Nathan Goodwin, senior from Neodesha (Hot Blades Harry and Old Man Strong); Lewis Trotter, freshman from Abilene (Tiny Tom); RobyLane Kelley, junior from Topeka (Soupy Sue); Alanis Balza-Medina, senior from Maize (Little Becky Two-Shoes); Steven Garcia, freshman from Emporia (Robbie the Stockfish); Daniel Vazquez, junior from Lenexa (Caldwell B. Cladwell); and Claire Segura, junior from Shawnee (Josephine Strong).

The faculty production team includes Pete Rydberg (director), Pennie Speedie (music director), Chris Lohkamp (scene shop supervisor and technical director), Nancy Pontius (scenic design) Amanda Dura (costume shop manager and costume designer), and guest production member Moreu Burnard from Chicago, Illinois, (sound designer).

Students on the production team include Erin McNeley-Phelps, senior from Lenexa (Production Stage Manager); McKenzi Crossman, sophomore from Liberal (Assistant Stage Manager); Allie Thomas, junior from Emporia, KS (Choreographer), Mason Nicks, senior from Leavenworth, KS (Lighting Designer), Mike Cooprider, junior from Hutchinson, KS (Assistant Scenic Design & Props Master), Courtnee Wisdom, senior from Conaway Springs, KS (Makeup and Hair Design), Kaylee Flory, junior from Olathe, KS (Video Operator), Nicholas Thomas, freshman from Emporia, KS (Sound Board Operator), Greyson Waltmire, senior from Topeka, KS, (Light Board Operator), Ashley Hill, freshman from Shawnee, KS (Spotlight Operator), William Watson, freshman from Lawson, KS (Spotlight Operator), Kaitlin Werth, sophomore from Wichita, KS (Fly Operator) Evie Johnson, sophomore from Caton, KS (Fly Operator), Abbiah Conrad, junior from Mulvane, KS (Shift Crew), Bella Jeppsen, freshman from Lawrence, KS (Shift Crew), Joslyn Clem, sophomore from Cherokee, OK (Shift Crew), Cassie Winsler, freshman from Gardner, KS (Shift Crew), Isabelle Nelson, senior from Olathe, KS (Costume Crew Chief), Vaughn Lolley, freshman from Topeka, KS (Costume Crew), Kat Martin, junior from Kiowa, KS (Costume Crew), Bennett Montgomery, freshman from Bartlesville, OK (Costume Crew), Kaitlin Tarrant, junior from Crescent, OK (Costume Crew), Jillian Schwartz, junior Lawrence, KS (Costume Crew), Kara McCormick, senior from Spring Hill, KS (House Management), Jack Jaworski, junior from Shawnee, KS (House Management), Luke Johnson, junior from Waverly, KS (Audience Services), Cassie Cervantes, sophomore from Emporia, KS (Audience Services), Taylor Bisbee, junior from Rosalia, KS (Usher), Makayla Pearson, senior from Emporia, KS (Usher), Gabriel Hernandez, senior from Wichita, KS (Usher), Lucas Coble, graduate student from Olpe, KS (Usher), Kara Mitchell, junior from Fredonia, KS (Usher).

Performances are at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 21, 22, and 23 and at 2 p.m. Oct. 24. All times are Central Daylight. Advanced tickets for Emporia Theatre Guild and group block reservations are on sale Oct. 4; general admission opens Oct. 11. Reservations can be made by calling (620)-341-5256. Lines are open weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., at, or in person between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. weekdays on campus in 201 King Hall. Livestream passes can be purchased at [Keyword: Emporia].

About Emporia State Theatre

Emporia State University has one of the oldest and strongest theatre programs in the country, with well over 1,000 graduates. Many are working across the country in professional and academic theatre. At ESU, students can earn a BFA or BA in theatre, or gain certification to become a secondary teacher in the BSE program in speech and theatre. We are proud to be a part of an outstanding department, Communication and Theatre. ESU Theatre is an active participant of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.