Skip to main content

Euripides’ ‘Medea’ is Fall Production for ESU Theatre

Emporia State University Theatre presents Euripides’ “Medea,” in a new version by Ben Power, as its fall 2020 show. Two free performances will be presented on the steps of ESU’s Memorial Union at 5 p.m. Oct. 30 and 31 with an alternate performance scheduled for Nov. 1, in case of inclement weather. The production runs 90 minutes.

A classic Greek tragedy, “Medea” tells the story of Medea, a former princess, and her ex-husband, Jason, who has abandoned Medea and their two sons to marry King Kreon’s daughter. Afraid of Medea’s future interference, Kreon banishes her and her children; however, not before giving Medea the opening she needs to enact her revenge. A perfect story for the Halloween weekend.

The cast includes Makayla Pearson, junior from Chanute (Medea), Parker Hernandez, an alum from Emporia (Nurse), Chris Lohkamp from Emporia (Kreon), Eddie Lee, sophomore from Emporia (Jason), Ryan Wollum, junior from Tecumseh (Jason’s Attendant), Cameron White, senior from Emporia (Aegeus), Zulema Renteria, an alum from Emporia (Chorus One), Mackinzie Mitchell, junior from Melvern (Chorus Two), Maria Rupp, freshman from Silver Lake (Chorus Three), Rose Stokes, senior from Cimarron (Chorus Four), Robylane Kelley, sophomore from Topeka (Chorus Five), Allie Thomas, sophomore from Emporia (Ensemble), and Damien Page, junior from Hutchinson (Ensemble).

The production team includes Dennis Turney (Director), Chris Lohkamp (Technical Director/Vocal Reinforcement), Nancy Pontius (Environmental and Scenic Design) and Amanda Dura (Costume Shop Manager/Costume Designer).

Students on the production team include:

  • Production stage manager: Erin McNeley-Phelps, junior from Lenexa
  • Assistant stage manager: Laney Smith, junior from Belle Plaine
  • Assistant tech director: Mason Nicks, junior from Leavenworth
  • Assistants to the costume designer: Dayne Sabatos, senior from Burlington; and Emily Rayson, senior from Ottawa
  • Wardrobe supervisor: McKenzi Crossman, junior from Liberal
  • Wardrobe crew: Isabella Tate, senior from Kansas City; Isaac Hess, junior from Wellington; and Abbey Starkey, freshman from Olathe
  • Sound board operator: Jared Steele, senior from Garden City
  • Propmaster: Cameron Webb, senior from Shawnee
  • Set construction crew: Kaylee Flory, sophomore from Olathe; Gabriel Hernandez, junior from Wichita; Isaac Morris, freshman from Salina; Alex Moore, freshman from Junction City; Maranda Keely, freshman from Harveyville; and Zoe Dyer, freshman from Emporia
  • Stage hands: Michael Cooprider, junior from Hutchinson; Ryan Clary, sophomore from Osawatomie; Taylor Bisbee, sophomore from Rosalia; Ashley Cervantes, freshman from Emporia; Evie Johnson, freshman from Canton; Luke Johnson, freshman from Waverly; Courtnee Wisdom, sophomore from Conway Springs; Jack Jaworski, sophomore from Shawnee; Kaitlin Werth, freshman from Wichita; and Morgan Shipman, senior from Topeka
  • House managers: Kara McCormick, junior from Spring Hill; Daniel Vazquez, sophomore from Lenexa; and Lucas Coble, senior from Olpe
  • Audience services: Kathleen Martin, sophomore from Kiowa; Alyssa Gharmalkar, freshman from Parsons; Haley Wells, junior from Wichita; and Yerim Noh, senior from South Korea

Performance times are at 5 p.m. Oct. 30 and 31. All performances are presented on the steps on the south side of the ESU Memorial Union. This is a free event. Seating is limited and socially distanced. Face masks are required of all in attendance.

About Emporia State Theatre

Emporia State University has one of the oldest and strongest theatre programs in the country, with well over 1,000 graduates. Many are working across the country in professional and academic theatre. At ESU, students can earn a BFA or BA in theatre, or gain certification to become a secondary teacher in the BSE program in speech and theatre. We are proud to be a part of an outstanding department, Communication and Theatre. ESU Theatre is an active participant of the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.