Skip to main content

Capitol Federal® Celebrates ESU 2023-24 Scholars

Students stand along a spiral staircase.

The 2023-24 Capitol Federal scholars were celebrated during the annual luncheon on Wednesday, Nov. 29, at the Sauder Alumni Center at Emporia State University.

Emporia State in 2002 became the first of seven Kansas higher education institutions to work with Capitol Federal on a scholarship program that prepares business students for challenges of the future. High-achieving students from Emporia State University’s School of Business + Technology have benefited for more than two decades from the university’s partnership with the Capitol Federal Foundation.

“We are honored to support Emporia State University students throughout their college journey,” said John B. Dicus, chairman, president and CEO of Capitol Federal. “Each year, we’re amazed to see what students are accomplishing in the classroom and beyond. The university experience often includes balancing sports, extracurricular activities and even part-time jobs on top of classroom studies. We are proud to play a role in supporting these deserving students.”

The scholarships awarded to the Capitol Federal Scholars are renewable annually and can follow students from their freshman years through graduate school provided they maintain the required minimum 3.25 grade point average.

Throughout this partnership, the Capitol Federal Foundation has given Emporia State more than $1million in support of the Capitol Federal Scholars program.

“Capitol Federal is deeply committed to serving the communities of Kansas, and it shows in how they invest in the future,” said Shane Shivley, president of the ESU Foundation. “Their commitment to helping young people prepare themselves for successful careers is an enormous benefit for each and every student, but it also benefits all Kansans in the long-run because it helps to build stronger and more vital communities.”

Since 2013, the Capitol Federal Foundation has also awarded ESU student-athletes through their Capitol Federal Athletic Scholars program.

“Being a Capitol Federal Scholar honestly changed my academic life,” said Kellee Banks. “It was the first scholarship I ever received, and without them, I’m not sure I would be able to afford school. Their investment in my future has allowed me to continue to dream big and accomplish so many of my goals!”

The 27 ESU students who earned Capitol Federal Scholars recognition at this year’s luncheon included the following:


  • Truman Bailey, Olpe
  • Aidan Beck, Parsons
  • Logan Roth, Madison
  • Abigail Stone, Gridley
  • Matthew Sulzen Watson, Topeka
  • Erica Unruh, Wichita


  • *Brooke Hammond, Garden Plain
  • Lance Hoffsommer, Sedgwick
  • Matthew Huddlestun, Overbrook
  • Christopher Mick, Newton
  • *Brogan Renfro, Silver Lake
  • Lily Willming, Shawnee


  • Reid Cowan, Topeka
  • Samuel Culp, Sedgewick
  • Carlos Galindo, Emporia
  • Harrison King, Scott City
  • Vaughn Lolley, Topeka
  • Devon Moncrief, Eudora
  • Brianna Sapp, Emporia
  • Zachary Slavin, Coffeyville


  • Kellee Banks, Wichita
  • Joel Dieker, Olpe
  • Steven Llamas, Emporia
  • Matthew Postel, Gardner

Accelerated Graduate Students

  • Zachary Harris, Emporia
  • Lindsey Newman, Emporia
  • Jared Reinke, Overland Park

*Capitol Federal Athletic Scholars