Skip to main content

Women's History Month Reception and Awards Ceremony

Celebrating the women of Emporia State University

Come celebrate Women’s History Month of Emporia State University on Friday, March 29, from 2 to 3:30 p.m. in the Sherrer Room of the Memorial Union. The Ethnic and Gender Studies Program is sponsoring the 2024 Women’s History Month Reception and Awards Ceremony.

The recipients of this year’s Ruth Schillinger Award, Dr. Mary F. Headrick Award, and Susan B. Anthony Scholarship also will be honored.

The first reception took place in March 1996 when the first Schillinger Award was presented to Ruth Schillinger herself. This year marks the 29th anniversary of the Schillinger Award.

The Ruth Schillinger Award is named after a former Dean of Women and ESU’s first Affirmative Action officer. To earn this award an individual must make extraordinary contributions to the women of Emporia State over a sustained period.

This year’s recipient of the Ruth Schillinger Award is Dr. Dawn McConkie, a professor of Music and Interim Assistant Dean for the School of Visual and Performing Arts. McConkie teaches applied clarinet and saxophone and directs several chamber groups. Her chamber ensembles have performed many times at international conferences, and she strives to promote and commission works written by women and diverse composers.

The Mary Headrick Award is named after a former counselor in the Emporia State University Counseling Center, who was known for helping women reach their full potential. This award is designed for those who make a long-term commitment to promoting the growth of women at ESU and in the community.

This year’s recipient of the Mary Headrick award is Kaila Mock, who graduated from Emporia State University in 2013 with a bachelor of fine arts degree. She opened Trox Gallery and Gifts in March 2020. Mock and her husband, Joel Smith, founded the Emporia First Friday Art Walk, which has grown over the years. MOck is also a sexual assault survivor who now serves on the SOS board of directors.

Finally, the Susan B. Anthony Scholarship is awarded to an ESU student who has contributed significantly to the growth and education of women on the ESU campus, while achieving academic excellence.

Receiving the scholarship for the 2023-24 academic year will be Maria Paula Sanchez Aguirre, a business accounting major in the School of Business and Technology.

Friends and family of award recipients, students, and community members are welcome to join ESU as we honor dedicated and amazing women. Light refreshments will be served at the reception.