Skip to main content

2015-16 Capitol Federal Scholars Introduced

The 2015-16 Capitol Federal Scholars were introduced on Tuesday, Dec. 1 during the annual Capitol Federal Scholars luncheon at Emporia State’s Sauder Alumni Center.

Since the program was established in 2002, Capitol Federal Foundation has given almost $600,000 in scholarships to Emporia State. The Capitol Federal Scholars program recognizes high-achieving students within Emporia State University’s School of Business.

Each scholarship is renewable annually, meaning a student who earns the scholarship as a freshman remains eligible through graduate school as long as he or she maintains the required minimum 3.25 GPA.

Emporia State was the first of seven Kansas higher education institutions to partner with Capitol Federal Foundation in a scholarship program preparing business students for the challenges of the future. Foundation Chairman Jack Dicus, Foundation President Tammy Dishman and members of the Foundation Trustees traveled to Emporia for this annual celebration. 

“We love getting to know the students and hearing how the scholarships impact them,” explained John Dicus, Foundation trustee and chairman, president, & CEO of Capital Federal Savings Bank.

Students who earned Capitol Federal Scholars recognition at this year’s luncheon included the following:


  • Kyle Jones, Easton

  • Hayley Meisch, Wichita 

  • Gavin Reeves, Valley Center 

  • Christian Smith, Emporia 

  • Seth Surface, Ozawkie


  • Kathleen Coffin, Florence 

  • Alexandra Ewy, Lawrence 

  • Megan Goodman, Salina 

  • Moira Pyle, McPherson
  • Ryan Smith, Shawnee 


  • Shane Garrison, Kechi 

  • Tawni Griffey, Norton 

  • Kristina Johnson, Garden Plain 

  • Chelsea Oberle, Greensburg


  • Dylan Geissert, Hope
  • Victoria Harmon, Wichita
  • Chelsea Ingram, Topeka
  • Kayla Lansing, Leavenworth 

  • Oscar Lemus, Emporia
  • Brittany Rees, Emporia
  • Anna Zimmerman, Topeka

Graduate Students

  • Sara Beam, Topeka
  • Lindsey Holthaus, Topeka 

  • Anita Muniz, Emporia
  • Kaylyn Spencer, Florence
  • Sierra Taylor, Americus

Additionally, since 2013, the Capitol Federal Athletic Scholars Fund has awarded scholarships to outstanding student-athletes. The 2015-16 Capitol Federal Athletic Scholars are Brandon Gentz, a senior from Emporia, and Julia Joseph, a freshman from Wichita.