Skip to content


Emporia State introduces newest Shepherd Scholars

Emporia State University celebrated both the promise of continued academic achievement and the family responsible for the scholarships helping secure the higher education dreams of 13 more students during a May 5, 2014, ceremony. 

The Shepherd Scholarship, created in 1994 by a gift from Augusta Shepherd and her late husband, R. Hershel Shepherd, recognizes high-achieving students in their junior year at Emporia State.

Online extra: Shepherd Scholars in photos

“The Shepherd Scholars represent not only our best students, but also those students who demonstrate community involvement, creativity and commitment,” said Dr. William Clamurro, professor of English, modern languages and journalism and chair of the Shepherd Scholar selection committee.

“What impresses me about the Shepherd Scholarship is that Augusta Shepherd (whose gift makes the scholarships possible), wants to know who we are as people, and how we can give back to others,” said Miranda Mai, Business Administration major from Sharon Springs.

The 2014-2015 Shepherd Scholars, hometowns, and academic majors are:

  • Abigail Black, Pratt, Secondary Math Education

  • Aaron Cox, Eureka, Social Sciences Secondary Education

  • Nakita Elwood, Madison, Sociology

  • Kylie Geiman, Louisburg, Speech and Theatre Education

  • Sertrice Grice, Wamego, Psychology

  • Sarah Harrington, Newton, Music

  • Jonathan Holsapple, Overland Park, English Education

  • Taylor Huettenmueller, Garnett, Mathematics

  • Tiffany Khounsombath, Wichita, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

  • Miranda Mai, Sharon Springs, Business Administration

  • Katherine Slayton, Tecumseh, Psychology

  • Logan Sleezer, Olpe, Earth Science and Biology

  • Donald Wilcox, Lee’s Summit, Missouri, Biology

“Since coming to this university and hearing about this scholarship, this award has been a motivation of mine,” said Jonathan Holsapple, an English education major from Overland Park. “What you’ve really done for us is to provide some extra motivation to keep us going,” Holsapple said in thanks to the Shepherd family.

Another Shepherd Scholar, Logan Sleezer of Olpe, elaborated: “It’s much more than a monetary award. It’s the greatest honor I’ve received, and I am unbelievably grateful to the Shepherd family for making it possible.”

In addition to her Shepherd Scholarship, Katherine Slayton received additional recognition. She was named this year’s Roe R. Cross Distinguished Professors scholarship winner. Slayton is a psychology major from Tecumseh.

Shepherd Scholars are selected through a competitive application process led by Emporia State’s Roe R. Cross distinguished professors. During the 20 years of the program’s existence, 239 Emporia State students have received the plaques and cash awards that recognize them as Shepherd Scholars.

Emporia State University Foundation

The Emporia State University Foundation was established in 1952 as an independent, nonprofit corporation that exists to support Emporia State University.

The Foundation staff raises, receives, manages, invests, distributes and stewards private resources in support of the university’s mission in the areas of teaching, research, public service, and scholarship. 

The Foundation’s fundraising staff works with individuals, corporations and foundations that believe in and support the University’s goals and initiatives through charitable gifts  that improve, enhance, and expand the vitality of Emporia State.

By investing in Emporia State, you help change lives!