Skip to main content

The Teachers College Faculty Honored

2019 The Teachers College awards winners

Four members of the faculty and staff at Emporia State University received awards on Jan. 9, 2019, for their work within The Teachers College.

Dr. Cathy Grover was presented the Excellence in Service Award. Grover, an associate professor of psychology, was recognized for mentoring and training the psychology department’s graduate teaching assistants, serving on numerous campus committees and work in professional associations. She mentors dozens of students each year in research, assisting them to create research presentations for the ESU Research and Creativity Day and accompanying them to conferences specifically chosen to sponsor student research. Colleagues said Grover is the backbone of the psychology department and has a deep and prolonged commitment to promoting student success.

Dr. Amanda Lickteig received the Excellence in Instruction Award. Lickteig, an assistant professor in school leadership / middle and secondary teacher education, received the award for her commitment to “creating a positive classroom environment, her ability to model techniques that students can use in their own classrooms, and her ability to balance technology with kinesthetic activities have resulted in exceptionally high IDEA evaluations.” One student summed up her instruction style with, “It was a joy to be in her class.” Lickteig also has been instrumental in the implementation of the STEP program, a redesigned and expanded internship for secondary education candidates.

Dr. Paul Luebbers received the Excellence in Scholarly Activity Award. Luebbers, professor and department chair of health, physical education, and recreation, was honored for his research work, including collaborations at every level—ranging from ESU students and colleagues to some of the best-known and most respected researchers in their fields. He is published in top journals and his work is widely cited. His topics range from nutrition for young athletes to the effects of the size-weight illusion for weight lifters. Within the last three years, he has published two book chapters and six peer-reviewed articles in highly respected professional publications; and has presented at national, regional and state conferences.

Recipients for these faculty recognition awards are nominated by their respective academic departments and selected by a university-wide committee. Each winner receives a plaque and a monetary award to be used by the recipient for professional development expenses.

Each year, the Darrell E. Wood Service Award goes to an individual who has supported the mission of the college in a unique or outstanding manner. This year’s award went to Sharon Pittman. Pittman, an administrative specialist in the department of elementary education / early childhood / special education, has continually represented her colleagues in university service, represented ESU at the Kansas Board of Regents, provided daily leadership in her department while embracing the needs of faculty, staff, and students. She has served on Emporia State’s university support staff senate as well as the affirmative action advisory council. Those who nominated her for the award stated, “the many ways she serves as a leader would fill a book rather than a three-page letter.”

To view a list of previous recipients of these awards, visit