Skip to main content

2020 Winners

2020 Kansas Master Teachers

* Special Award, ** Black Endowed Chair Recipient

2020 Kansas Master Teachers

2020 Class of Kansas Master Teachers Announced

February 25, 2020

The seven members of the 2020 class of Kansas Master Teachers were announced today. The teachers chosen for this annual award are:

  • Hillary Barscewski, First-Grade Teacher at Cottonwood Elementary School in USD 385 Andover;
  • Holly Bright, Kindergarten Teacher at Grandview Elementary School in USD 490 El Dorado;
  • Justin Heeke, Seventh-Grade Physical Education Teacher at Comanche Middle School in USD 443 Dodge City;
  • Erica Huggard, Biology/Health Science Teacher at Emporia High School in USD 253 Emporia;
  • Eunice Izazaga, Second-Grade Teacher at Pleasant Valley Elementary School in USD 259 Wichita;
  • Vickie Marcozzi, Art/Enrichment Reading and Writing Grades 2-5 Teacher at Oakdale Elementary School in USD 305 Salina; and
  • Kathy Wagoner, English Teacher at Hays High School in USD 489 Hays.

The 2020 master teachers represent 102 years of classroom experience.

Through the support of the Bank of America Charitable Foundation, each Master Teacher will be presented with a check for $1000.

The recipients were selected by a nine-member committee including representatives from the Kansas Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals, Kansas Parent Teacher Organization, Kansas National Education Association, ESU’s Kappa Delta Pi student organization, and representatives of the 2019 Kansas Master Teacher class.

In spring 2020, the recognition day for the 2020 class of Kansas Master Teachers was suspended due to the COVID-19 outbreak. In October 2020, the program’s selection committee voted to suspend normal nomination procedures.

Emporia State established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to selected teachers who demonstrate the attributes of exemplary professional educators. Information on the 66 years of educators named Kansas Master Teachers is available here.

Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than $100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State for several days. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students.

Kansas Master Teacher program 2020 2022 front cover

2020 KMT Program.pdf

This program contains the names of the Kansas Master Teacher Nominees.