Skip to main content

Kansas Master Teacher Awards

Kansas Master Teacher Awards

The Kansas Master Teacher Awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers. Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Award program in 1954.

Each year, selected teachers are recognized during a special Kansas Master Teacher Recognition Day at Emporia State University.

Kansas Master Teacher Day

Due to concerns regarding COVID-19, Kansas Master Teacher Day on April 1 is canceled. When it is rescheduled, information will be released through social media and on this web page. This cancellation comes as the university responds to the COVID-19 pandemic by following social distancing practices, which include avoiding mass events of congregate areas.

Publicizing the Award

The award selection committee sends information about the Kansas Master Teacher Award through e-mail and hard copy mailings generated from the Kansas State Department of Education website contact list, as well as through social media. To ensure information reaches you, please keep your directory information updated with KSDE. We suggest individuals in charge of the local selection process bookmark this Kansas Master Teacher web site. Thank you for assisting us with our efforts to keep you informed.