Skip to main content

English + Modern Languages Scholarships

English + Modern Languages Scholarships

English + Modern Languages Programs are proud to be able to offer significant support to students in the form of various types of scholarships.

Scholarships automatically awarded to eligible students

E.R. Barrett / V.A. Davis

Students must be undergraduates studying journalism.

Pauline Henderson

For full-time students in good standing majoring in English.

Leona M. Goodwin

For outstanding Emporia State University students who are attending or who apply to attend ESU, are majoring in English, and graduated from a Kansas high school. Students must have a minimum 3.0 GPA in their high school or college courses to be considered.

Shirley Marsh Scholarship

For deserving students majoring in Modern Languages who demonstrate financial need and merit, are a junior or senior, have shown excellence in a foreign language, and maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Scholarships requiring application

Kay Alden Creative Writing Scholarship

In honor of outstanding alumnus and professional writer, Kay Alden, this award offers one annual grant of $1,000 to an outstanding Emporia State junior, senior, or graduate student who demonstrates significant talent and ability as a creative writer (fiction, poetry, drama, and/or creative nonfiction).

Deadline: November 20 Annually

Green Wyrick Creative Writing Quivira Scholarship

Created in honor of former faculty member and Quivira advisor, Professor Green Wyrick, this annual award honors students who demonstrate talent in the fields of fiction and poetry writing. Award amount varies by term.

Deadline: November 20 Annually

  • Jerilynn Henrickson (Writing, Education)
  • William H. Clamurro International Study Fund (Modern Languages)

Graduate Scholarships

The Graduate School has a number of scholarships for which our students compete. We have endowed funds that go toward enhancing the stipends of our teaching assistants. These come with a Graduate Teaching Assistant position and are not offered separately from the position.

  • Walton essay award
  • Wild essay award