Connect with us Link to Flint Hills Chapter Facebook Page


Back to Newsletter

Flint Hills Chapter Hosted Reception for 2011 Teachers of the Year Share Experiences  

By Mirah Dow

The 2011 Kansas Teacher of the Year and Regional Teachers of the Year award recipients came to Emporia State University on Thursday, February 3 to advocate for their profession. The Flint Hills Chapter, Phi Delta Kappa, hosted a reception at 2:30 p.m. in The Teachers College Atrium. Students, faculty and chapter members had an opportunity to visit with the five honored teachers and question them about their teaching experiences and the state of education. This reception was part of a day-long schedule of activities in which the five teachers visited the National Teachers Hall of Fame on the ESU campus, and taught four seminars of education students.

Honored teachers were Curtis Chandler of Wamego Middle School, 2011 Kansas Teacher of the Year and a graduate of Emporia State University, and regional teachers of the year Nikki Chamberlain of Salina South High School, Jodi Testa of Lincoln Elementary School in Junction City, Lu Anne Vides of El Dorado Middle School and Linda G. Wiersma of Sunflower Elementary School in Paola.

Back to Newsletter

This page developed by Zeni Colorado for the Flint Hills Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa International. Please send website suggestions to