Summer research supported by ESURP and K-INBRE

Summer, 2013

Sean Claridge, Liz High, and Jenni Wells are conducting research for eight weeks from 6/10-8/2 as participants in ESU's Summer Undergraduate Research Program (ESURP). Sean is funded by ESURP, whereas Liz and Jenni are sponsored by student scholarships from K-INBRE. Both women are also affiliates of the REU program in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Jenni, Liz, and Dr. Nutbrown are guests in Prof. Judith Burstyn's research lab on UW-Madison's campus. Sean is collaborating remotely as the group's computational chemist.

Jenni Wells honored as "Outstanding Freshman in Chemistry" at Emporia State University by the Wichita Local Section of the American Chemical Society

April, 2013

Jenni Wells, a first-year research student in the Nutbrown lab, was recognized by the Wichita Local Section of the American Chemical Society at a banquet on April 30th at Newman University for her performance in general chemistry. Jenni shared this honor with her lab partner, Collin Connor.

Faculty Research and Creativity Grant awarded to Dr. Nutbrown

January, 2013

Dr. Nutbrown received funding to support a graduate research assistant for the 2013-2014 academic term. This grant also includes money for the purchase of materials and equipment.

Dr. Nutbrown recognized as "Honored Instructor"

December, 2011

Dr. Nutbrown received an Honored Instructor award at a campus reception on December 9, 2011, for her work as a CHEM 103 lecturer. Honored instructors are nominated by University of Wisconsin-Madison students through University Housing. Dr. Nutbrown greatly appreciated being recognized as an "outstanding classroom instructor."

Ian Armstrong, Autumn Frater and John Milligan honored at Chemii banquet

May, 2011

Several Nutbrown group members received awards at the annual Chemii banquet held at the Iroquois Club. Ian Armstrong will conduct research this summer at Oak Ridge National Lab as the recipient of the Ruth Ann Verrel Internship. Autumn Frater won the Polyed Award for her exceptional performance in organic chemistry and John Milligan was honored as the Outstanding Junior Major.

Group members share research at NCUR meeting in Ithaca, NY

April, 2011

Undergraduates Ian Armstrong and Autumn Frater presented posters during the annual National Conference on Undergraduate Research. This conference, hosted by Ithaca College, was the first public venue where Ian and Autumn communicated their laboratory work.

Undergraduate research students present results at 241st National American Chemical Society Meeting in Anaheim, CA

March, 2011

Nutbrown research group members John Milligan, Shelly Perry and Cameron Stevens presented posters during the spring ACS meeting in the organic, inorganic and undergraduate symposia. Missed it? Check out their posters on-line to catch up on their research results.

Congratulations to Shelly Perry, recipient of a Women Chemists Committee/Eli Lilly Travel Award

November, 2010

Michelle (Shelly) Perry is one of ten recipients of a WCC/Eli Lilly Travel Grant for the spring of 2011. This competitive national-level award will support Shelly's attendance at the 241st National Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Anaheim, CA. During this spring meeting, Shelly will attend a private reception, be recognized during the WCC lunch, and present her poster ("Microwave syntheses and spectral characterization of coumarin-based Li+ fluoroionophores") at the inorganic session. Read Allegheny's press release to learn more about Shelly's accomplishment.

Summer researchers present posters at UW-Madison REU symposium

August, 2010

Nutbrown research group members, Caitlyn Bowman, John Milligan, Shelly Perry and Cameron Stevens, presented posters during the end-of-summer symposium hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program on Wednesday, 8/4/10. Twenty-seven students from nineteen research groups on campus shared the results of their laboratory work. Browse photos from the poster session or view the posters to learn more about these students' accomplishments.

Congratulations to Caitlyn Bowman, Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship winner and NOAA intern for 2011

May, 2010

Caitlyn Bowman is one of only 100 students nationwide honored with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship for 2010-2011. Caitlyn will intern at NOAA next summer, after having worked in the Nutbrown lab since the second semester of her freshman year. Read Juniata College's press release to learn more about Caitlyn's achievement.