Program Information


Program Resources

What are Phases I & II?
Phase I
- Admission Requirements
- Application Procedure
- Application Instructions
Phase II
- Admission Requirements and Information


Service Work Documentation Form
100 Hours Options
Patterson Scholarship

Teaching Fields

*not a stand alone program

›  Secondary (6-12) certification areas

›  Middle Level (grades 5-8) certification areas

›  Pre-K-12 certification areas

Department of
School Leadership / Middle and Secondary Teacher Education

Secondary Education Overview

The professional component of Emporia State's secondary and middle school teacher education program has two phases.

  • Phase I consists of campus and field-based professional course work in education. It is the first of two professional education-intensive semesters. Phase I is Decision Point 1 for ESU teacher education. Decision Points are points at which a decision about continuance or non-continuance in the Teacher Education Program is made for each candidate. Normally, students enter Phase I during the junior year.
    Learn more...
  • Phase II consists of a full semester of student teaching which occurs during the senior year. Learn more...