2012 Kansas
Master Teachers

Shelley Aistrup

Principal/Preschool Teacher
USD 383 Manhattan/Ogden

Cindy Ehrstein

Eighth Grade Language Arts
USD 385 Andover

Sandra Gonsher

Second Grade Teacher
USD 229 Blue Valley

Kendra Metz

Seventh Grade Language Arts
USD 497 Lawrence

Katrina Paradis

English Teacher
USD 305 Salina

Jodi Testa

Third Grade
USD 475 Geary County

Marc Woofter

USD 443 Dodge City

Kansas Master Teacher Award

2012 Kansas Master Teachers

From left to right: Cindy Ehrstein, Marc Woofter, Kendra Metz, Shelley Aistrup, Sandra Gonsher, Katrina Paradis, and Jodi Testa

Seeing students as individuals hallmark of 2012 Kansas Master Teachers

February 27, 2012

Teaching to each student’s needs and demonstrating a caring attitude are two traits that set the 2012 class of Kansas Master Teachers apart.

The 2012 class, announced today (Feb. 27, 2012), features two principals, two teachers in elementary classrooms, two in middle school and one in high school:

  • Shelley Aistrup, principal of Northview Elementary School and College Hill Preschool in Manhattan;
  • Cindy Ehrstein, eighth-grade language arts teacher at Andover Central Middle School;
  • Sandra Gonsher, second-grade teacher at Sunrise Point Elementary School in Overland Park (Blue Valley district);
  • Kendra Metz, seventh-grade reading and language arts teacher, South West Middle School in Lawrence;
  • Katrina Paradis, English teacher at Salina Central High School;
  • Jodi A. Testa, third-grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in Junction City (Geary County district); and
  • Marc Woofter, principal of Comanche Intermediate Center in Dodge City.

Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also typify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers.

Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than $100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Okla., established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to ESU for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students.

The 2012 class will be honored on Wednesday, April 4, 2012, in Emporia. The schedule of events for the day includes a look back at teaching styles of the past at the one-room schoolhouse at ESU and lunch with ESU President Michael D. Shonrock.

The master teachers will present a seminar in Visser Hall 330 from 2:30 to 3:45 p.m. on “Engaging Excellence Through Education.” The evening begins at 5:15 p.m. with social time outside Webb Hall in ESU’s Memorial Union. The dinner and awards presentation begins at 6:30 p.m. in Webb Hall.