2010 Kansas
Master Teachers

Eleanor Browning

Special Education Reading Coach
USD 253 Emporia

Kathy Doussa**

First Grade Teacher
USD 443 Dodge City

Michael Dunlap

Journalism Teacher
USD 229 Blue Valley

Lou Ann Getz

Clinical Instructor
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Schools

Sheila Lewis

Sixth Grade Teacher
USD 450 Shawnee Heights

Andrea Sayler-Siefkes**

(Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and Human Biology)
USD 350 St. John/Hudson

Kassie Shook

First Grade Teacher
USD 497 Lawrence

Scott Irwin*

Emporia State University

Kansas Master Teacher Award

2010 Kansas Master Teachers

From left to right: Kathy Doussa, Michael Dunlap, Sheila Lewis, Kassie Shook, Lou Ann Getz, Eleanor Browning, and Andrea Sayler-Siefkes

Master Teachers Honored

Spring 2010

Seven teachers were honored this Spring as Kansas Master Teachers. They were:

  • ESU alumna Eleanor Browning (BS, MS), Special Education Reading Coach, Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative, Mary Herbert Educational Center, USD 253 – Emporia
  • ESU alumna Kathy Doussa, First Grade Teacher, Northwest Elementary School, USD 443 – Dodge City
  • Michael Dunlap, Journalism Teacher/Publications Adviser, Blue Valley West High School, USD 229 – Overland Park
  • Lou Ann Getz, Clinical Instructor, Anthony & Eisenhower Middle Schools, Kansas State University Professional Development School,
    USD 383 – Manhattan/Ogden
  • Sheila A. Lewis, Tecumseh North Elementary School, USD 450 – Shawnee Heights
  • Andrea Sayler-Siefkes, Science Teacher, St. John High School, USD 350 – St. John/Hudson
  • Kassie Shook, Sunflower Elementary First Grade, Lawrence Public School, USD 497 – Lawrence

ESU established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1953. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers.




View the 2010 program