The Heartland Alliance

The Heartland Alliance for Higher Education was established in 1995 as a cooperative effort between Kansas higher education institutions in an effort to offer more and better services to students and to promote communication, articulation, and cooperative agreements between institutions. Heartland Alliance members are Allen County Community College, Butler County Community College, Coffeyville Community College, Emporia State University, Flint Hills Technical College, Highland Community College, Hutchinson Community College, Johnson County Community College, Kansas City Kansas Community College, and Pittsburg State University.

 If you're planning to start your college career in a community college and then earn a bachelor's degree from Emporia State University, you may be eligible for the Dual Advising/Dual Admission program being offered by the Heartland Alliance.

 The Dual Advising program offers you the guidance of advisors from two schools who watch program requirements, activities and opportunities in your field of interest to ensure your transfer process is successful. You will be assigned both a community college and ESU advisor during your time at the community college. Both advisors will work together to provide you with the information necessary to make you successful both before and after you transfer to ESU.   

For further information regarding this program you may e-mail Shelly Gehrke,Student Advising Center; the Admission's Office,; or Registration/Transfer Evaluation; or call the Admission's Office at 620/341-5465.