Back to Study Abroad

ESU Study Abroad Travel Grant


The travel grant is available to degree-seeking ESU undergraduate students who embark on study abroad activities for year, semester, and short-term programs, including ESU faculty-led programs. The travel grant is intended to assist students in the cost of the study abroad and will not cover all the expenses associated with the program.



The travel grant is governed by the following guidelines:

1.The student must be enrolled as a degree-seeking student at Emporia State University before and during the study abroad experience.

2.If the student withdraws from the course associated with the study abroad experience, s/he will be required to re-pay completely the travel grant monies.

3.The study abroad program will be associated with academic credits that are relevant for the student’s fulfillment of graduation requirements.

4.Travel grant monies must be declared for financial aid purposes and may affect the total amount of financial aid awarded to the student.

5.The travel grant amount will vary depending on program location and length. Please find the region/country on the scholarship award matrix.

6.The student is eligible to receive the travel grant only once during his/her college career.

7.The student must demonstrate good academic and disciplinary standing to be considered for the travel grant.

8.The travel grant will be awarded on a competitive basis to undergraduate students who have a minimum GPA of 3.25 at the time of applying.

9.Travel grant applications will be considered with two reference letters issued by an ESU faculty or staff not involved in the planning of the study abroad program.

10.The travel grant will be disbursed on the student's account at the beginning of the semester in which the study abroad program takes place, provided that the student has maintained a GPA of 3.25 or higher.

11.If the student is going for a semester or year study abroad, the student is required to receive a grade of B or higher in the mandatory, 1-credit pre-departure study abroad course. Students who do not complete the pre-departure orientation course satisfactorily will not be eligible for the travel grant.

12.The student is required to attend the pre-departure orientation session. Students who do not attend the orientation session will no longer be eligible for the travel grant.

13.Students receiving the travel grant are required to volunteer with the OIE in promoting study abroad opportunities to the campus at large.

14.To ensure ESU benefits from awarding a travel grant to its students, the student must remain at ESU for at least two semesters after the completion of the study abroad experience, unless the student graduates from ESU before. Students who wish to transfer to another university immediately after being a beneficiary of the travel grant for study abroad, will have to re-pay the travel grant.

15.ESU Travel Grant is currently unavailable for graduate level students (effective Fall 2017).


Semester and Year-long Programs

Semester Programs:

Students who are approved for a study abroad program for one semester of duration will be eligible to receive $1,000 dollars to offset the cost of the study abroad experience.

Year Programs:

Students who are approved for a study abroad program for one academic year are eligible for additional funding of $1,000 for the second semester of the study abroad after the student has submitted documentation that indicates successful completion of the first semester and sound academic progress.


Short-term Programs

Students who have been admitted into a short-term program will be eligible to receive a Travel Grant based on the region of destination, according to the chart below.


Travel Grants and World Regions for Short-Term Programs




Region 1



Canada, Mexico, The Caribbean, and Antilles

Region 2


Central America:
Belize, Costa Rica, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama.

South America:
Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela.

Region 3


All European countries

South America:
Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay, Brazil.

Region 4


Oceania: Australia and New Zealand
Middle East


Study Abroad Travel Grant Form

Application Deadlines

  • Fall: March 24
  • Winter Break: October 15
  • Spring: October 15
  • Spring Break: October 15
  • Summer: March 24