Emporia State University honors 10th class of Capitol Federal Savings Scholars

November 15, 2011

The 2011-12 class of Capitol Federal Savings Scholars in Emporia State University’s School of Business has been chosen.

The scholarship, reserved for business students from Kansas high schools who maintain a 3.25 or better grade point average, is benefiting 28 students in its tenth year at ESU. Joining the students at a luncheon at ESU’s Sauder Alumni Center were  by Dr. H. Edward Flentje, interim president, and representatives of Capitol Federal Savings.

“The Capitol Federal Savings Scholars program at Emporia State University was the first established by the Cap Fed Foundation,” said Jack Dicus, Capitol Federal chairman emeritus. “We are proud to have provided these scholarships for undergraduate and graduate business majors since 2002.”

“I can’t think of anything more special that recognizing and celebrating academic excellence. We’re delighted with the support that Capitol Federal has given our scholars over the years,” said Flentje.

2011-12 Capitol Federal Savings Scholars


  • Courtney Cox, Olathe
  • Sara Dunkin, Topeka
  • Micah Offermann, Topeka
  • Nicole Rottinghaus, Baileyville
  • Mallory Walden, Wichita
  • Eric Wietharn, St. Marys


  • Stephanie Anderson, Emporia
  • Kristi Bretches, McPherson
  • Brynna Demotte, Topeka
  • Dallas Fillmore, Osage City
  • Amanda Heiman, Topeka
  • Lindsay Holthaus, Topeka


  • Matthew Crome, Westphalia
  • Michael Luthi, Madison
  • Tessa McMahan, Clay Center
  • Victoria Slinkard, Medicine Lodge


  • Rachel DeLay, Holton
  • Angela Gifford, Waverly
  • Jaymie Hardtarfer, Lawrence
  • Anthony Mercer, Emporia
  • Krista Saylor, Newton
  • Jordan Schawe, Madison
  • Mallory West, Lawrence

MBA students

  • Caitlin Eck, Bartlett
  • Carissa Garcia, Newton
  • Jason Rowland, Emporia
  • Olson Kilmer, Lawrence
  • Nicole Skala, Newton



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site