Area students named to SPURS honor society

August 25, 2011

The school year only recently began but a group of Emporia State Students already is looking for service projects on campus and in the Emporia community. SPURS, which stands for Service, Patriotism, Understanding, Responsibility and Sacrifice, is a sophomore honor and leadership society at ESU.

ESU students inducted into SPURS are College Carr of Andover; Courtney Craun of Bartlesville, Okla.;Jessica Dhority of Reading; Alaina Fairbanks of Shawnee; Amy Feldkamp of Lenexa; Janelle Harvey of Cheney; Amanda Heiman of Topeka; Marisa Jarboe of Shawnee; So Mi Kim of Emporia; Kyla Kuss of Rose Hill; Danielle Lott of Leavenworth; Rachel Marshall of Kansas City, Kan.; Dylan Meeker of Merriam; Erin Ritter of Shawnee; Ashley Rodgers of Lee's Summit, Mo.; Hannah Rosenwald of Overland Parkk; Nikki Sanders of Overland Park; Khaili Scarbrough of Topeka; and Shane Touslee of Great Bend.

SPURS was founded in 1922 at Montana State University in Bozeman. It was a national honor society until 2006. ESU’s chapter was admitted at the June 1964 national convention. When the national group disbanded, the ESU chapter chose to continue locally.

The SPURS honorary group is open to students at the sophomore level who are interested in providing service to the university and community, want to develop their leadership skills and have a grade point average of at least a 3.25.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site