Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

Scholarship awards awarded to adaptive special education majors

July 20, 2015

The adaptive special education graduate program at Emporia State University awarded nearly $41,000 in scholarships for the 2015-16 academic year.

“The fact that we can offer support to educators who serve children with special needs is tremendous,” said Marjorie Bock, professor in the Department of Elementary Education/Early Childhood/Special Education. “We are grateful for the generosity of donors who have a vision to support the adaptive special education program at ESU.”

Emporia State’s adaptive special education program offers students the option of a 24-credit-hour special education endorsement or a 36-credit-hour master’s degree. Both the endorsement and the master’s degree are available entirely online.

Every year, during the fall semester and beginning of the spring semester, graduate students pursuing master’s degrees in adaptive special education are encouraged to apply for a number of scholarships available through the program. The scholarships are funded from ten endowments.

"I am thankful for receiving a scholarship because it allows me to further my education in a field I am very passionate about,” said Katelyn Lee, one of the scholarship recipients.

Students interested in applying for scholarships for the 2016-17 year may check the program website for application information at

For the 2015-16 academic year, 33 graduate students received scholarships provided by nine endowments:

Nettie B. Cartmel and Mattiepearl Heath Scholarship

  • Crystal Bakke
  • Michael Bass
  • Nicolas Gardner
  • Cody Grauberger
  • Martie Helm
  • Alexandra Hemmen
  • Soohyun Kim
  • Jason Longberg
  • Lauren Merrill
  • Michelle Porubsky
  • Marla Smith

Betty Carter Manning Scholars Fund

  • Christi Boswell
  • Elizabeth Chrisman
  • Katie Don Carlos
  • Jessica Fischer
  • Kylee Flaherty
  • Hailey Gifford
  • Deann Hunt
  • Elizabeth Kendrick
  • Katelyn Lee
  • Amelia Otto
  • Bonnie Shaw
  • Carol Spunaugle
  • Robin Stock
  • Karla Tanking
  • Susana Vargas

Student Council for Exceptional Children Scholarship

  • Elizabeth Koerner

Southwest Kansas Association for Visually Impaired — Camp Mitchell Special Education School

  • Stephanie Groth
  • Melanie White

Duane Hetlinger Memorial Scholarship

  • Kylie McElravy

Carrollyn J. Helbert and Oneida Elizabeth Ziegler Memorial Scholarship

  • Soohyun Kim

Marshall and Olga Hiskey Scholarship

  • Samuel Hendee

Olga Chambers Memorial Scholarship

  • Andrew Proctor

Mary L. Doris Memorial Special Education Scholarship

  • Elizabeth Koerner

Carrollyn J. Helbert and Oneida Elizabeth Ziegler Memorial Scholarship

  • Lexi Unruh



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site