Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

Kansas helps high school students explore teaching careers

June 6, 2016

Kansas high school students are getting closer look at what it takes to be a teacher at the Kansas Future Teacher Academy in Emporia June 5-9. The academy consists of 33 Kansas high school students and is being held on the Emporia State University campus.

This year’s academy consists of 32 girls and one boy. The KFTA is coordinated by the Jones Institute for Educational Excellence at ESU. The academy is funded in part by the Kansas legislature. This is the 27th year for the KFTA which is hosted at Emporia State.

Students are accepted into the academy based upon their academic standing, involvement in school and community activities, and interest in exploring a career in teaching. Participants are involved in numerous activities during the week, including those centered on opportunities in education, problem-solving and leadership skills, personal goal setting, and technology in education.

“These students will have the opportunity to meet with the best teachers in the state and in the nation,” said Dr. Roger Caswell, co-director of the academy. “On Sunday, they will hear from a 2016 Kansas Master Teacher. On Tuesday they will meet with 2016 Kansas Master Teachers, and on Wednesday they will meet with the 2016 National Teachers Hall of Fame inductees.”

Caswell said during the week the KFTA participants will work with children attending Emporia State’s Center for Early Childhood Education.

The students who are attending are:

  • JoAnn Apel, Salina High School South, Salina, KS
  • Lane Butterfield, Pleasant Ridge, Easton, KS
  • Hailey Engle, Douglass High School, Douglass, KS
  • Kelsey Fotovich, Basehor-Linwood High School, Basehor, KS                                                                 
  • Hannah Grant, St. Teresa's Academy, Kansas City, MO
  • Taylor Hamby, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Katherine Hobert, Maize South High School, Maize, KS
  • Tiarah Holt, Emporia High School, Emporia, KS
  • Ann Hrdy, Olathe South High School, Olathe, KS
  • Lauren Joeckel, Spring Hill High School, Spring Hill, KS
  • Shelby Jordan, Central Heights High School, Richmond, KS
  • Ella Keathley, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Hailey Kisner, Hutchinson High School, Hutchinson, KS
  • Jazmine Klumpe, Olpe High School, Olpe, KS
  • Julia Larkin, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Ashley Lieber, Bishop Carroll Catholic High School, Wichita, KS
  • Angelica Martinez, Garden City High School, Garden City, KS
  • Caitlin McAndrew-Beckman, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Bailey Moffitt, Emporia High School, Emporia, KS
  • Taylor Morstorf, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Jessica Najera, Wyandotte High School, Kansas City, KS
  • Megan Owens, Winfield High School, Winfield, KS
  • Megan Patterson, Spring Hill High School, Spring Hill, KS
  • Amelia Peters, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, KS
  • Anay Quintana, Wyandotte High School, Kansas City, KS
  • Lillian Reed, Cunningham High School, Cunningham, KS
  • Valerie Reimer, Newton High School, Newton, KS
  • Addyson Schiffelbein, Mulvane High School, Mulvane, KS
  • RaeLyn Scott, Council Grove High School, Council Grove, KS
  • Lenore Warne, Northwest High School, Wichita, KS
  • Kendra Wicks, Circle High School, Towanda, KS
  • Mikala Wilson, South Gray High School, Montezuma, KS
  • Chieko Zimmerman, Topeka High School, Topeka, KS




Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site