Three receive Boylan graduate awards

May 26, 2011

Emporia State University has awarded Laurence C. Boylan Scholar Awards for 2011-12 to Lindsey Bartlett of LaCrosse, Kan.; Thomas Martin of Topeka and Jennifer Singleton of College Station, Texas.

Bartlett is working on her master’s degree in English through ESU’s Department of English, Modern Languages and Journalism. Martin is working on his master’s degree in school psychology through the Department of Psychology, Art Therapy, Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling. Singleton is working on her master’s degree in biology with a concentration in zoology through the Department of Biological Sciences.   

The Laurence C. Boylan Scholar Award was created by a special fund drive to honor Dr. Boylan, dean of graduate studies from 1958-66. The Laurence C. Boylan Fund provides awards for distinguished scholarship in graduate study at ESU by honoring outstanding scholars.

The three students were awarded scholarships in the amount of $2,282 each, and their names will be added to the Laurence C. Boylan Scholar Award plaque on display in the Graduate School.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site