Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

Regents name ESU presidential search committee

May 26, 2011

The Kansas Board of Regents today announced the 19 members of the search committee to select the next president of Emporia State University. Former Regent Deryl Wynn of Kansas City, a 1983 graduate of Emporia State University, will head the committee. Wynn is a senior partner with the law firm McAnany, Van Cleave & Phillips.

The 19 members of the committee represent ESU faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni and Foundation; the Emporia community and the Board of Regents. Members are:

  • ESU faculty, staff and administration: Dr. Phil Bennett, Dean of The Teacher’s College; Dr. Steve Catt, Professor of Communication, and Chair of the Department of Communication and Theatre Arts; Diana Kuhlmann, Associate Vice President for Fiscal Affairs; Dr. Joella Mehrhof, Faculty Senate Past President, and Professor of Health, Physical Education and Recreation; Dr. Barbara Railsback, Assistant Professor of Business Administration and Education; Karla Rodgers, Classified Senate President, and Senior Administrative Assistant; and Dr. Andrew Smith, Assistant Professor of Library Information Management.

  • ESU students: Jonathan Rivers, Past President of Associated Student Government; and Ashley Vogts, President of Associated Student Government.

  • ESU alumni and Foundation: Dale Cushinberry, past member of the ESU Foundation Board of Trustees and the Alumni Board of Directors, and the former principal of Highland Park High School, Topeka; Russ Everhart, President, ESU Alumni Association, and Vice President of Sales, Zave Networks, Kansas City, Kansas; Lana Oleen, ESU Foundation Board of Trustees member, ESU Alumni Board of Directors member, and Former-State Senator, Manhattan; and Randy Steinert, ESU Foundation Member, Co-Chair of the Memorial Union Campaign, Past President of the ESU Alumni Association, and Senior Vice President, Director of Internal Audit of Emprise Financial Corporation, Wichita.

  • Emporia community: Jim Kessler, President, Modern Air Conditioning, Inc., Emporia, City Commissioner and former-mayor of Emporia; Jeanine McKenna, President and CEO, Emporia Area Chamber of Commerce; and Dr. Fred Neuer, retired Radiologist, Emporia.

  • Board of Regents: Dr. Mildred Edwards of Wichita, Regent; and Dr. Andy Tompkins, President and CEO.

For more information, see the news release on the Board of Regents website.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site