Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

Eight Students Honored for Scholarships to Emporia State

May 22, 2019

web Cinco scholarships

Scholarship recipients join Corky in celebrating Stingers Up. From left are Maricruz Arevalo, Erik Sanchez, Gabriela Padierna, Jocelyn Cervantes, Amanda Castillo, Corky, Maricruz Negrete, Aljandra Reynoso and Gabriela Ramirez.

Emporia State University honored eight students receiving scholarships from the university or Hispanics of Today and Tomorrow. The presentations came during the Cinco de Mayo festival May 4 in downtown Emporia.

Six students received scholarships from HOTT with an equal match from Emporia State:

  • Maricruz Arevalo
  • Amanda Castillo
  • Jocelyn Cervantes
  • Maricruz Negrete
  • Gabriela Padierna
  • Erik Sanchez

“We appreciate the work of HOTT members to support these students’ continuing education,” said Allison D. Garrett, ESU president. “We are pleased to match their efforts and welcome these students to campus in the fall.”

Two other students — Gabriela Ramirezand Alejandra Reynoso— received Presidential Scholarships from ESU. Presidential Scholarships are merit-based awards. The amount of the scholarship is based on a combination of ACT scores and grade point average.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site