The Teachers College honors students

May 10, 2013

Sixty-four Emporia State University students from The Teachers College received special recognition at the 29th Annual Teachers College Honors Banquet held the evening of May 10. Twenty-seven received out­standing student awards and 40 students were honored for achievement of a 3.8 grade point average or higher.

Undergraduate and graduate students were honored for excellence in their respective departments. Nine students received outstanding undergraduate student awards, 18 students received outstanding gradu­ate student awards, and two were awarded graduate research awards. The students honored included:

Undergraduate Awards

Athletic Training – Kaci Ludwig, Atchison

Elementary Teacher Education – Sarah Anderson, Overland Park

Health Education – Tiffany Orth, Wichita

Health Promotion – Annelise Adams, Emporia

Physical Education – Trevor Steinbacher, Erie

Psychology – Alexandria Lara, Wetmore

Recreation – Mitchell Martin, Mankato

Rehabilitation Services – Gerri Lee Sprecker, Americus, KS

Middle & Secondary Teacher Education – Blake Ballinger, Olathe

Graduate Awards

Alternate Route Program – Elizabeth Ricke, Olathe

Art Therapy – Deborah Cotterman, Emporia

Clinical Psychology – Chelsey Bohr, Royal, Iowa

Curriculum and Instruction – Phyllis Clark, Olathe

Early Childhood Education – Christine Hipsher, Olathe

Educational Administration – Jaclyn Pfizenmaier, Clay Center

Experimental Psychology – Amanda Martens, Emporia

Industrial/Organizational Psychology – Breanna Morrison, Augusta

Instructional Design & Technology – Qing Zhang, Jiangsu Province, China

Master of Education in Teaching – Abbey Steinbrink, Clearwater

Master Teacher/Reading Specialist – Leslie Wolf, Prairie Village

Mental Health Counseling – Jennifer Krehbiel, Haven

Physical Education – Aubrey Koeppe, Emporia

Rehabilitation Counseling – Alicia Hiles, Raymore, MO

Adaptive Special Education – Mary Anderson, Franklin, TN

Gifted Special Education – Shelley Kirk, Overland Park

School Counseling – Luke Greene, Overland Park

School Psychology – Carly Horne, Fayetteville, AR

The 2013 Graduate Research Awards went to two outstanding students:

  • Jason Busche, Anthony, KS, a student Health, Physical Education and Recreation department, for his research project titled, “Comparison of Dynamic Warm-Up in Relation to Time Using the Vertical Jump Test”   “
  • Amanda Martens, Shelby, Iowa, a psychology student, for her research project titled, “Women, Men, and Monsters: The Expression of Aggression in Video Games.”

Honored Students

The following 40 undergraduate students were also recognized for a cumulative grade point average of 3.8 or higher. These students are due to graduate or have graduated in December 2012, May 2013 or Summer 2013:

Beattie – Landon Ross Wright

Berryton – Victoria Ann Crocker

Burlington – Dacey Jo West

Council Grove – Erica Sue Henning

Easton – Katherine V. Fox

El Dorado – Annamarie Lea Larue

Emporia – Liuhan Cai, Elizabeth J. Cunningham, Chase B. McIver, Hannah Sue Steimel, Chynna D. Prenzler, Brittany Redd, Stefanie Sprenkle, Michelle Thompson

Eureka – Brittanie McKenna

Galva – Sherlynn Goering

Garden Plain – Jaclyn Marie Hahn

Garnett – Amanda Jo Foltz

Kansas City – Alexander Latin

Lansing – Jeremy Ryan Farr

Lawrence – Hannah Lee Arndt Bain, Kaci L. Ludwig

Leavenworth – Elizabeth Edmonds

Louisburg – Cameron Schneider

Marysville – Shannon Leigh Mangnall

Mission – Viviana E. Merlos

Moran – Kaylan Brooke Colgin

Neodesha – Katie L. Ewert

Newton – Jamie Nicole Kientz

Norton – Kendall Yeoman Fiscus

Olathe – Blake B. Ballinger, Laura Nordeen, John Spencer Weaver, Lindsey Renee Freund

Overland Park – Sarah Ashley Anderson

Saint Mary’s – Hannah Hutley

Spring Hill – Brittany Ann Thompson

Tecumseh – Therese Voegeli

Weskan – Raney Okeson

Wichita – Tiffany Orth



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site