Emporia State to introduce newest Shepherd Scholars

May 6, 2013

Celebrating the promise of continued academic achievement, Emporia State University will introduce its 12 newest Shepherd Scholars at 1 p.m. Thursday, May 9 at the Sauder Alumni Center. Everyone is welcome to attend.

“We look forward to the opportunity to recognize some of our best and brightest students,” said Dr. Michael D. Shonrock, Emporia State president, expressing appreciation to the Shepherd family of Emporia, whose gift created the scholarship awarded to current Emporia State juniors.

The 2013-14 Shepherd Scholars, hometowns, and academic majors are:

  • Eric Anderson, Olathe, Pre-Medical Biology
  • María Castro-Muñoz, Lima, Peru, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Allex Dysart, Maize, Elementary Education
  • Kira Danelle Hall, Lebo, Computer Science
  • Rachel Hovey, Wichita, Secondary Education-Chemistry
  • Christopher Krause, Colorado Springs, Colo., Secondary Education-Earth Science
  • Kady Paul, Osage City, Elementary Education
  • Adam Petz, Lawrence, Mathematics
  • Nicole Reutzel, Topeka, Mathematics Education
  • Brooke Schultz, Topeka, Elementary Education
  • Michelle Wilk, Olathe, Secondary Education-English
  • Hui Yang, Guangong, China, Elementary Education

“The Shepherd Scholars represent not only our best students but also those students who demonstrate special versatility, community involvement, creativity and commitment,” said Dr. William Clamurro, professor of English, modern languages and journalism and chair of the Shepherd Scholar selection committee. “They are a tribute to the whole Emporia State community, and the annual ceremony is a reaffirmation of our highest values and also a gesture to the Shepherd family of our appreciation for their generosity,” he continued.

“Shepherd Scholars are selected through a competitive application process led by our distinguished Roe R. Cross professors,” said DenaSue Potestio, Emporia State Foundation president. “It is a great honor for students to receive this prestigious award and a true pleasure to celebrate their achievements with the Shepherd family,” she added.

Augusta Shepherd and her late husband, R. Hershel Shepherd of Emporia established the Shepherd Scholars program in 1994 to provide financial support for Emporia State’s most accomplished students as they approach their senior year in college.

Since the first awards were presented in 1995, more than 220 Emporia State students have received the plaques and cash awards that recognize them as Shepherd Scholars.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site