Kansas Business Hall of Fame announces 2011 inductees

April 5, 2011

One man credited with stabilizing Ford Motor Co.’s financial position at the start of the 21st century and another who saw the potential of connecting Texas cattle with Kansas railroads in the 19th century will be inducted this summer into the Kansas Business Hall of Fame at Emporia State University.

Alan Mulally, president of Ford Motor Co., and the late Joseph G. McCoy, who developed the Kansas town of Abilene as a principal shipping point for Texas cattle coming up the Chisholm Trail, will be recognized at the KBHF induction ceremony Thursday, June 29, at Butler Community College in El Dorado.

Gov. Sam Brownback will attend the ceremony to recognize these two men who have added to the business community’s prestige and growth. This is the 23rd year for the Kansas Business Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

The Kansas Business Hall of Fame is located at Emporia State University. Business leaders selected for the KBHF are widely known for their contributions to Kansas, and are recognized as role models. The KBHF recognizes historical contributors and present-day leaders who have made private enterprise work in Kansas and throughout the country.

Previous inductees include such prominent Kansans as Pizza Hut founders Dan and Frank Carney, Clara and Russell Stover of Russell Stover Candies, Don Hall of Hallmark Cards, Clyde Cessna of Cessna Aircraft Co., Walter Chrysler, founder of the Chrysler Corp., and William Allen White, entrepreneur and Pulitzer Prize-winning editor of the Emporia Gazette.

The only program of its kind in the state of Kansas, the Kansas Business Hall of Fame serves as a chapter of the American National Business Hall of Fame.

• For biographies of each inductee, click Alan Mulally or Joseph McCoy.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site