Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

Schillinger, Headrick, Anthony awards to be given in ceremony on Friday

March 28, 2013

Three women at Emporia State University will be honored with special awards on Friday, March 29, 2013, during the Women’s History Month reception and award ceremony from 3:30 to 5 p.m. at Sauder Alumni Center.

Dr. Marie Miller will receive the Ruth Schillinger Award, named for longtime dean of women and the university’s first affirmative action officer. The award is given to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to the women of Emporia State University over a sustained period.

Miller has served on the faculty at Emporia State since 1990. During her tenure she has served as associate chair and chair of the Department of Music, interim chair of the Department of English, Modern Languages and Journalism and became dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in 2011. Miller was named the Roe R. Cross Distinguished Professor in 2001 and received the Presidential Award for Distinguished Service to Diversity in 1999.

Dr. Malonne Davies will receive the Mary Headrick Award, named for a counselor in the university’s counseling center for 27 years. The award is given to a person who has gone the extra mile, making a long-term commitment to promoting the growth of women in schools and the community.

Davies is an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry, where she teaches both traditional chemistry and science education methods classes. Davies also contributes to ESU’s Expanding Your Horizons in Math and Science conference for middle-school girls, where she conducts workshops and career discussions. She also performs as part of the “Crazy Ladies of Chemistry” duo during this conference, and at regional schools and Girl Scout and Brownie troop meetings. 

Davies’ has served on the Ethnic and Gender Studies Steering Committee for six years, been president of the Methodist women’s organization at her church, been a member of the ESU’s Women Chorale and served as an officer for a regional chapter of the American Chemical Society and the Kansas Association for Science Teachers.

Lea Anderson will receive the Susan B. Anthony Award, a scholarship given to an Emporia State University student who has demonstrated the greatest or most beneficial input to the growth and education of women on the campus as well as excellence in scholarship.

Anderson is an elementary education major from Circleville, Kan. She was named to the presidential honor roll in Spring 2012 and was awarded the Outstanding Membership award for Kappa Delta Pi in that semester as well.  She is a member and activities chair of Kappa Delta Pi. She also has served as secretary of Circle K, and has been involved in the Kansas Reading Association, Conversational Partners and the Union Activities Council.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site