Five to be inducted into National Teachers Hall of Fame

March 15, 2012

Five teachers from across the United States learned today that they are the newest inductees into the National Teachers Hall of Fame. The Class of 2012, which includes the first teachers from Minnesota and Wisconsin, learned the good news during surprise announcements at their schools.

Representatives from The National Teachers Hall of Fame and its corporate sponsors, Herff Jones and Pearson Education, joined state and local educational leaders to make the announcements.

The Class of 2012 is:

  • David Brock, who teaches 9th- through 12th-grade science at Roland Park Country School in Baltimore;
  • Dr. James A. Brooks, who teaches 12th-grade English and photojournalism at West Wilkes High School in Millers Creek, N.C.;
  • Scott Charlesworth-Seiler, who teaches fifth and sixth grades at Fine Arts Interdisciplinary Resource (FAIR) School in Crystal, Minn.;
  • Glenn Lid, who teaches 10th- through 12th -grade Conceptual, Honors and AP Chemistry at Proviso East High School in Maywood, Ill., where he also is the head coach for varsity baseball and assistant coach for wrestling and golf; and
  • Deborah Tackmann, who teaches 9th- through 12th-grade health education at North High School in Eau Claire, Wisc.

The five inductees in the Class of 2012 will be honored in Washington, D.C., on May 8 during a reception at the headquarters of the National Education Association. They will be in Emporia from June 13 through 15 for a series of recognition events, including meeting students attending the Future Teacher Academy, a roundtable discussion and community events all capped by a recognition banquet and induction ceremony.

The stories of their careers will be on permanent display at The National Teachers Hall of Fame gallery on the Emporia State University campus in Emporia. The teachers also receive $1,000 worth of educational materials from Pearson Education and signet rings and lapel pins from Herff Jones, Inc., of Indianapolis, Ind.

The Class of 2012 was chosen by a national selection committee that met Feb. 16, 2012.

“The selection committee is comprised of representatives from national educational organizations and NTHF membership,” said Carol Strickland, chairman of the NTHF selection committee. “The committee evaluates the nominees on responses to questions regarding their professional profile, their teaching both inside and outside the classroom, educational issues and accountability.”

Since the first inaugural induction ceremonies in 1992, 100 educators from 36 states and the District of Columbia have been inducted.

The 2012 induction is sponsored by Pearson Education, Herff Jones and the National Education Association Foundation.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site