Three to be honored at Women’s History Month reception and ceremony

March 6, 2014

Come celebrate the women of Emporia State University’s past, present and future on Friday, March 7 from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. at the Sauder Alumni Center. The Ethnic and Gender Studies program and the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies are sponsoring the reception.

Join the women and men of the Emporia community in celebration of the 2014 Women’s History Month Reception and Awards Ceremony. Also, to honor the recipients of this year’s Ruth Schillinger Award, Mary Headrick Award and Susan B. Anthony Scholarship.

The first reception took place in March 1996 when the first Schillinger Award was given to Ruth Schillinger herself. Going strong for 19 years now, the reception has taken place every year since.

The Ruth Schillinger Award is named after a Dean of Women and ESU’s first Affirmative Action officer. To earn this award an individual must make extraordinary contributions to the women of Emporia State over a sustained period.

Dr. Joyce Thierer, associate professor of social sciences, is this year’s recipient. Thierer teaches courses in women’s history, and mentors women undergraduate and graduate students.  Additionally, Thierer runs a business, Ride Into History, dedicated to public history performance, focusing on the lives of women, especially rural and Midwestern women. Her performances are well-known throughout the region, and have also taken place nationally and internationally. Thierer also advises the Studio2B group of the Girl Scout Council of the Flint Hills, supporting girls in the Emporia community.

The Mary Headrick Award is named after a counselor in the ESU Counseling Center, this award is designed for those who go the extra mile and make a long-term commitment to promote the growth of women in our schools and community.

This year’s recipient of the Mary Headrick award is Janice Noyes, A.P.R.N. Jan is in her 12th year as a nurse practitioner in the ESU Student Wellness Center, where she has developed the Center’s ability to provide improved and additional services. Her compassion and leadership in the area of Women’s Health is recognized by both her colleagues and her students. Jan was recently inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International, the honor society of nurses, a recognition given only to nursing professionals who excel in leadership and service.

Finally, the Susan B. Anthony Scholarship is awarded to an Emporia State student who has demonstrated the most beneficial input into the growth and education of women on the campus in addition to excellence in scholarship.

Receiving the scholarship for the 2014-2015 academic year will be Keslie Humburg. She is working toward Master’s degrees in both Art Therapy and Mental Health Counseling. Humburg is the president of the Student Art Therapy Organization and a founding member of the Student Mental Health Counseling Organization. She has participated in Take Back the Night events and in a Rape Victim Advocacy Program. Her goal is to use her education and personal experiences in her feminist counseling orientation to strive for women’s rights, reproductive rights, LGBTQ rights, and gender equality.

Friends and family of award recipients, students and community members are welcome to join the campus community as they honor hard-working and amazing women.



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's site