Kansas Children’s Literature Expert and Reading Expert speaks in Emporia

March 6, 2012

More than 100 educators from across Kansas gathered to hear two experts in children’s literature and reading at a recent conference in Emporia.

The 14th annual Kansas Reading Recovery® and Early Literacy Conference was held March 5 at Emporia Arts Council due to renovations to ESU’s Memorial Union. The event was sponsored by ESU’s Jones Institute for Educational Excellence.

Beth Swenson gave the keynote address. Swenson is an elementary school literacy expert using methods aimed at improving children’s literacy skills while saving school districts money.

Beverley Olson Buller, an author and chair of the William Allen White Children’s Book Awards selection committee and a commissioner for Kansas Reading Circle, spoke at the lunch.

The conference offered educators the opportunity to network and attend sessions led by reading instruction experts from across the country.

For more information about the conference, or about the Reading Recovery program at ESU, visit www.emporia.edu/readingrecovery or contact the Jones Institute at 620-341-5372, toll free 877-378-5433.

Attendees at the conference included:

USD 217, Rolla –
Kaylee Norton

USD 226, Meade –
Irlana Meyers

USD 234, Fort Scott – Sheryl Bloomfield, Michelle Defebaugh, Janet Irvin, Linda Jackson, Becky Tinker

USD 244, Burlington – Cindy Doebele, Jan Martin

USD 251, North Lyon County – Erin Stahl, Millicent Phillips

USD 252, Southern Lyon County – Donna Arndt, Linda Davis

USD 288, Central Heights – Becky Burks, Linda Horstick, Shanna Richards

USD 299, Sylvan-Lucas Unified – Rita Vonada

USD 308, Hutchinson – Janice Hoppes, Pamela Johnston, Jennifer Mencl, Terri Oyler

USD 320, Wamego – Jennifer Cordts, Deb Long

USD 321, Kaw Valley – Alyne Anderson, Kaylynn SignDhillon

USD 323, Rock Creek – Bridget Troyer

USD 341, Oskaloosa – Peggy Reiling

USD 345, Seaman – Judith Farris

USD 346, Jayhawk – Leslie Doering, Abby Hoffman

USD 348, Baldwin City – Amy Anderson, Cybill Coates, Sarah Harris

USD 350, St. John-Hudson – Julie Fox, Danette Russell

USD 364, Marysville – Carol Huntsman, Debra Stohs

USD 365, Garnett – Mary Adams, Betsy Bunnel, Cynthia McGhee

USD 368, Paola – Ronda Huber, Patt Ludwick, Kim Mucklebauer, Beth Slawson

USD 373, Newton –  Tobie Loewen, Kevin Neuenswander, Laura Pyle, Ellen Regier, Beaty Robb, Kent Rychnener, Marsha Schmidt, Pam Trussel, Deb Unruh, Naomi Wiebe, Renee Wiens-Evangelista

USD 377, Atchison County Community Schools – Alison Ostertag

USD 378, Riley County – Debbie Conrad, Jeni VanSickle

USD 380, Vermillion – Ruth Ann Pralle

USD 383, Manhattan-Ogden – Sheri Appel, Emily Dossett, Heidi Francis, Lucia Haselhorst, Christina Martinez, Victor Rincon

USD 384, Blue Valley – Diana Hargrave

USD 386, Madison-Virgil – Cheryl Baysinger

USD 387, Altoona-Midway – Cheryl Landwehr

USD 403, Otis-Bison – Holly Strommenger

USD 404, Oskaloosa – Teresa Greninger, Christy Mercer

USD 435, Abilene – Janelle Shaw

USD 436, Caney Valley – Tony Blackwell

USD 454, Burlingame Public Schools – Linda White

USD 456, Marais Des Cynges Valley – Maureen Warner

USD 464, Tonganoxie – Christine Baska, Reann French, Terri McAlister

USD 466, Scott City – Karen Gibbs

USD 469, Lansing – Bette Bell, Nicole Delich, Denise Shelley, Bridget Silva, Amy Turner

USD 471, Dexter – Amanda Mugler, Tina Gage, Trina Kuntz

USD 489, Hays – Amy Woydziak, Gail Pratt, Kay Shippy, Laura Gaughan, Mary Straub, Rainell Goodale USD 498, Valley Heights – Laura Musil

USD 500, Kansas City – Terri Quinn, Rebecca Tennison

USD 506, Labette County – April Roberts, Cindy Kearns, Michelle Traxson, Nancy Hahn, Pat Brothers, Samantha Hestand, Vickie Stockton

Red Cloud, Nebraska – Lois Goosic



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site