Teacher education faculty honored

January 16, 2014

Five faculty members at Emporia State University received awards for their work at The Teachers College Faculty/Staff Spring Semester meeting.

Each year, recipients are nominated by their respective academic departments and selected by a university-wide committee. Each winner receives a plaque and a monetary award to be used by the recipient for professional development expenses.

The awards were presented Jan. 16.

Matt Seimears was presented the Excellence in Instruction Award. Nomination materials cited his passion for being a teacher of teachers and his ability to review and reflect on the instruction he provides. Seimears regularly travels with students as they gain field experience studying such things as bats, streams, cave formations, robots, soil, and bugs. Seimears is an associate professor/associate chair of the elementary education/early childhood/special education department.

Melissa Reed received the Excellence in Scholarly Activity Award. Reed has published seven refereed articles in state or national journals, five of which were co-authored either with colleagues or students. She has made 27 presentations at state, regional, and national conferences – often with students she has mentored as they engaged in research for the first time. Reed is an assistant professor in the elementary education/early childhood/special education department.                                                                          

Jim Persinger was recognized with the Excellence in Service Award. In the area of professional service, besides a substantial amount of service provided to students and for The Teachers College, in state and national organizations he has fulfilled a spectrum of service roles – from reviewer, editor, consultant, to president. Major beneficiaries of his service are the National Association of School Psychologists, the Council for Exceptional Children­, and the Kansas Association of School Psychologists. Persinger is a professor in the psychology department.

Each year The Teachers College presents the Darrell E. Wood Service Award to an individual who has supported the mission of the college in a unique or outstanding manner. This year’s award went to Marcus Childress, professor and department chair of the instructional design and technology department. From being an invited speaker at a renowned international conference in Beijing to tailgating with faculty, staff, graduate students and alumni, the nomination materials for Childress reflect his leadership roles in his profession and discipline, as well as his enthusiasm for camaraderie within his department, college, and the university at large.

Perhaps the best outcome of his efforts is reflected in the fact that, during a time when Apple and Google have recently overtaken Coke as the biggest brands in the world, graduates from the program he chairs are getting quality jobs in a competitive industry.

For the second year, the Ervay Family Award for Applied Scholarship was awarded. The award is to go to a faculty member or group of faculty members whose body of work have resulted in an improved or new education program. This year’s award went to Carol Russell, professor in the elementary education/early childhood/special education department at ESU. Russell was honored for her project, Children Inspire Glass, which had children, ages 5 to 10, create stories and design creatures to be transformed into glass form. The children began with drawings they created, then modeled with clay and finally created into a glass model with the help of ESU art students. As part of the award, Dr. Russell receives a monetary gift. She has already said she plans to put the money back into the Children Inspire Glass program.




Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site