Winner: Daniel Coon By Phoebe Erickson 

Other Books on the Master List: 

By Thelma Bell 

Rowan Farm 
By Margot Benary-Isbert 

By Clyde Bulla 

House of the Fifers 
By Rebecca Caudill 

Wonderful Winter 
By Marchette Chute 

Sod House 
By Elizabeth Coatsworth 

Courage of Sarah Noble 
By Alice Dalgleish 

Wheel on the School 
By Meindert DeJong 

Haunt Fox 
By James Kjelgaard 

Ordeal of the Young Hunter 
By Jonreed Lauritzen 

Tough Winter 
By Robert Lawson 

Little Wu and the Watermelons 
By Beatrice Liu 

The Foreigner 
By Gladys Malvern 

Tales of Christophilos 
By Joice Nankivell 

Winter Danger 
By William O. Steele 

Freedom Train 
By Dorothy Sterling 

Banner in the Sky 
By James Ullman