January 17, 2013

Education Faculty Honored

Four faculty members at Emporia State University received awards for their work at The Teachers College Faculty/Staff Spring Semester meeting.

Spring 2013 TC faculty honoredEach year, recipients are nominated by their respective academic departments and selected by a university-wide committee. Each winner receives a plaque and a monetary award to be used by the recipient for professional development expenses.

The awards were presented January 14.

Marj Bock was presented the Excellence in Instruction Award. Bock teaches exclusively graduate online courses working hard to integrate class activities and instructional strategies with current brain research on memory, executive functioning, and motivation. The results of these efforts are organized and engaging courses. Her dedication was evidenced most recently by her role in the development of a new certificate program in Autism Spectrum Disorders. This new program at ESU aligns with a profound need in our state for current, research-based instruction for teachers who work with this special needs population. Bock is a professor in the elementary education/early childhood/special education department.

Janet Holland received the Excellence in Scholarly Activity Award. Holland involves identifying cutting edge technologies and curriculum pedagogies inspiring innovation and active engagement in instruction. In the past three years her research has been published in six books and four journals. In the same time frame, she has also made over 35 presentations, many with published proceedings, at the state, national and international level. Her goal is to disseminate the proper integration of new technologies and methodologies, and to develop new approaches for both synchronous and asynchronous courses. Holland is an associate professor in the instructional design and technology department.

Lori Mann was recognized with the Excellence in Service Award. In the area of professional service, Mann upholds the responsibility of every faculty member to serve the profession in ways leading to educational improvement and collegiality. To this end, she has worked to serve the ESU community, both on the departmental and university levels, including service on the Faculty Senate, several key committees, and as chair of the Kansas Master Teacher Committee. She has served in leadership positions in state and national professional organizations, including the International Reading Association and the Organization of Teacher Educators in Reading. She actively serves the Emporia community.  Mann is an associate professor in the elementary education/early childhood/special education department.

Each year The Teachers College presents the Darrell E. Wood Service Award to an individual who has supported the mission of the college in a unique or outstanding manner. This year’s award went to:

Mark StanbroughMark Stanbrough who is regarded as “an outstanding role model for youngsters in the community as exemplified by his service to the Emporia area youth” according to the nomination letter written on his behalf. He serves on the Executive Board of the National Council for Accreditation of Coaching Education, as well as various state organizations. He also has served on the USATF National Youth Junior Olympic Cross Country Meet Board and the Executive Board for the Kansas Shrine Bowl Cross Country Board. In addition, he has been the Head Field Event Referee for the United States Association Track and Field National Club Championships.  Stanbrough was also responsible for initiating the Kansas Shrine Bowl Cross Country All-Star Run, which involves the top 60 high school seniors in the state. Stanbrough is a professor in the Health, Physical Education, and Recreation department.