The Lanier Award


Dr. William P. Lanier was a teacher in the truest sense of the word.  He loved teaching and set high standards for his students.  Dr. Lanier encouraged student scholarship as well as providing research opportunities for both graduate and undergraduate students through his own work in Kansas, Canada, France and South Africa.  A native of Maryland, he received his Ph.D. at the University of Arizona and moved to Kansas in 1989 to teach at Emporia State University.  This award seeks to continue the tradition of student scholarship exemplified by Dr. Lanier. Potential recipients are nominated by student peers, and determined by voting members of the ESU Earth Science Club.

1997-1998  John Morettini
1998-1999 Damon Williams
1999-2000 Steven Veatch
2000-2001 Cameron Cooper
2001-2002 Dorian Burnette 
2002-2003 Erik Merhoff
2003-2004 Margaret Landis 
2004-2005  Patrick Laird
2005-2006 Chris Dobbs
2006-2007:  Shawn Salley 
2007-2008 Kallie Moore
2008-2009 Brenda Zabriskie
2009-2010 John Barker
2010-2011 Graham Markowitz
2012-2013 Cathryn Mallonee 
2013-2014 Marie Barlow
2014-2015 Katy Schwinghamer
2015-2016 Justin Able


Outstanding Senior in Earth Science

An outstanding senior in Earth Science is selected each year by Earth Science faculty. Students are nominated by a professor or advisor and the selection is made by vote. 


1999-2000 Alex Sill
2003-2004 Anthony Farrar
2004-2005 Zac Andereck
2005-2006  Chris Dobbs
2006-2007 Spencer Musgrove
2007-2008 Kallie Moore
2009-2010 Jue Jiang
2012-2013 Megan Sprague
2013-2014 Dan Boring
2014-2015 Christopher Krause
2015-2016 Daniel O'Crowley


Recipients of Regional and National Awards and Scholarships


The Earth Science department is proud of the regionally and nationally competivive awards won by many of our majors. The following list includes some recent examples.

2004 Amelia Hess Spinger, Outstanding Student Poster Award, National Ground Water Association Summit Meeting, San Antonio Texas 

2005 Amelia Hess Springer, Association for Women Geoscientists Chyrsalis Award

2006 Delores-Nesyba Bird, Geologic Society of America, Outstanding Mention Award for Graduate Research

2006 Megan Flory and  2013 Dusty Gutierrez, Geological Society of America Undergraduate Research Grant

2012  Jacob Petty, Governor's Conference on the Future of Water in Kansas, Best Undergraduate Poster Award

2008  Delores Neshyba-Bird, Geological Society of America Graduate Student Research Grant

200x Scott Smith, Mineral Society Scholarship

2011 Megan Sprague, 2012 Dustin Burghardt, 2013 Marie Barlow, 2015 Daniel O'crowley, Thadd Barker,Justin Abel Gem and Mineral Clubs of Greater Kansas City, Undergraduate Scholarship

(Various) Daniel O'Crowley, Dusty Gutierrez, John Barker, Katy Schwinghamer, Brandon Milner, Scott Smith, Logan Sleezer  Kansas Geological Society, Undergraduate Scholarship

(various) Brandon Milner, John Barker, Kansas Geological Society, Graduate Scholarship

2014  Sarah Steedly,  Association for Women Geoscientists Osage Chapter Service Scholarship   

2015  Mariah Schwager and Kyle Beauchamp,  Kansas Earth Science Teachers Association (KESTA) Student Teacher Scholarship


Campus-wide Awards


ESU undergraduate and graduate students have won numerous campus distinctions.  Among these are:

2004, Amelia Hess Springer, Harold Durst Graduate Research Award

2005 Kevin Barnett and Spencer Musgrove, Best student Poster Award, ESU Research and Creativity Day 

(various) Douglas Geller, Kenneth Davidson, John Barker, Darrel Drake, ESU Graduate School, Graduate Research Grant

2011 Jacob Petty, ESU Undergraduate Research and Creativity Award

2012 Marie Barlow, ESU Undergraduate Research and Creatvitiy Award

2013  Marie Barlow and Christopher Krause, Blue Key Honor Society, ESU Top 150 Award

200x Shawn Sally and 2013 Bradley Johnson, Boylan Award for Best M.S. Thesis 

2013 Marie Barlow, 2014 Dusty Gutierrez, 2015 Katy Schwinghamer, Selected presenters, ESU Research Day at the Capital

2015 Katy Schwinghamer, NASA student research grant