Subject: New ESU Leadership Team

Date: Wednesday, February 9, 2022 at 4:08:33 PM Central Standard Time

From: Ken Hush



February 9, 2022

Dear Campus Colleagues,

I want to thank those of you who were able to attend the Coffee with the President event this morning hosted by ESU's Shared Governance. Several times I referenced the new ESU Leadership Team and promised to tell you more.

Forming the ESU Leadership Team is part of "an optimized leadership and organizational structure" mentioned in the email to you on January 24, titled Our Path Forward. That email talked about work to simplify the structure of Emporia State and to facilitate a team decision-making process.

Creation of the Leadership Team allows us to eliminate several monthly meetings with different groups and combine them into one that coordinates university decision making in a team manner across campus. This new group adds some new and key voices by incorporating those who met as Vice Presidents, President's Cabinet and Provost Council.

The new team includes leaders from across campus who come together regularly to share information from their units but also to discuss campus-wide topics through the perspective of their respective responsibilities.

The members of the team who meet with me are (in alphabetical order):

- Ed Bashaw Dean of the School of Business
- Joan Brewer Dean of The Teachers College
- Cory Falldine Chief Information Officer and Vice President for Infrastructure
- Shelly Gehrke Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success
- Kelly Heine Chief Marketing Officer
- Wooseob Jeong Dean of the School of Library and Information Management and Interim Dean of University Libraries and Archives

- Jo Kord Assistant Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
- Diana Kuhlmann Vice President for Administration and Finance
- Gwen Larson Director of Media Relations
- Ray Lauber Executive Director of Human Resources, Affirmative Action, EEO
- Bill McKernan Executive Director of Facilities
- Erin Mykleby Associate Athletic Director, Senior Woman Administrator
- Nyk Robertson Interim Senior Director of Diversity
- Shane Shivley Vice President for University Advancement and Foundation President
- Jerry Spotswood Dean of the Graduate School
- Brent Thomas Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
- Kent Weiser Executive Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
- Jim Williams Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
- Angela Wolgram Budget Director
- Gary Wyatt Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Our ultimate goal with the Leadership Team is to empower each in their individual roles as well as further develop their leadership capabilities as they work together for the good of Emporia State. This team will be invaluable to Emporia State's next president because it will be able to continue the projects and forward momentum we will create over the next months.

Sincerely,

Ken Hush

Interim President

EMPORIA STATE
UNIVERSITY

1 Kellogg Circle
Emporia, KS 66801-5415
620.341.5551

<u>Unsubscribe</u>. This is an official communication from Emporia State University. Unsubscribing could cause you to not receive future messages. **Questions?** Please contact helpdesk@emporia.edu.

This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service. For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com