Skip to main content

Communication Department Scholarships

Communication Scholarships

The Department of Communication and Theatre has Communication scholarships that it awards annually to students majoring in Communication at ESU. Unless otherwise noted, the communication faculty members select the recipient. Students do not need to apply to be considered for a scholarship. The scholarships include:

Karl C. Bruder Scholarship: The Bruder Scholarship is awarded to a Communication/Speech Communication junior with the deciding factor being GPA.

David L. & Mary Wylli Matheny Scholarship: The recipient for the Matheny Scholarship must be either a sophomore, junior, or senior, and maintain a 3.00 GPA or above; and actively participate in the special programs offered by the Department of Communication and Theatre. Active participation means either attendance and participation in at least two competitive forensic tournaments per semester; or active participation in the department’s Theatre programs as defined by the department. The Director of Debate and the Director of Theatre at ESU each nominate a qualifying student. The family of Dave and Mary Matheny selects the scholarship recipient.

Dwight E. Newberg Scholarship: The Newberg Scholarship is to be awarded to a junior pursuing a major in Communication. The Communication faculty will select the annual recipient who exemplifies qualities the faculty determines as outstanding for a communication major, and who demonstrates leadership and potential to be an outstanding ESU graduate and communication professional. Academic achievement and involvement in activities related to the major will be considered in the selection. The award will be announced at the end of the recipient’s junior year, and the recipient must be returning to Emporia State University for his/her senior year.

Larry Hannah Scholarship: The criteria for the Larry Hannah scholarship are: a) student will be enrolled in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences with a major in Communication, b) student meets the general scholarship requirements of the university, and c) scholarship may be renewable so long as a student is progressing satisfactorily.

John C. Lehman Scholarship: The Lehman scholarship fund will be used to provide an annual scholarship to a student who: a) Is working toward a major in Communication or in the Speech and Theatre secondary teaching field and has completed at least 45 hours toward their degree and b) has completed the general education core requirements and has maintained a 3.25 cumulative GPA.

Michael James Hubert Family Scholarship: A communication major who is currently a member of Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity and has at least a sophomore standing and has at least a 3.0 GPA.

View + Apply for Scholarships

To see all the scholarships that ESU has to offer, visit the ESU scholarship page.