Skip to main content

Department of Biological Sciences Academic Programs

Academics + Programs

The Department of Biological Sciences offers three undergraduate degrees; Bachelor of Arts (BA), Bachelor of Science (BS), and Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE). The BS Degree with a major in Biology has six concentrations; general biology, botany, zoology, ecology and biodiversity, physiology, and molecular & cellular biology. Students choose a concentration area that best fits their career aspirations. The BSE degree has two options: one teaching field or two teaching fields. Students working on a BS degree can also major in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, which is a major offered jointly between Biology and Physical Sciences.

At the Graduate level, the department offers two programs leading to a Master of Science (MS) degree in Biology; one is more research focused and requires students to complete an original research project and a non-thesis option that allows students to receive a degree through coursework alone.

The department also offers a Master of Science in Forensic Science (MSFS) program, which is the only one of its kind in the state of Kansas. MSFS program provides students three concentration areas: Criminalistics, Forensic Biology or Forensic Chemistry.

Undergraduate Programs + Minors

Explore our large variety of undergraduate programs and minors.

Graduate Programs

Explore our programs available to graduate students.

Pre-professional programs

Explore our pre-professional programs that are advising tracks that will prepare you for medical school, veterinary school and more.