The following scholarships and awards are available to ESU students (click underlined title for more details):

Kay Alden Creative Writing Scholarship

In honor of outstanding alumnus and professional writer, Kay Alden, this award offers one annual grant of $1000 to an outstanding Emporia State junior, senior, or graduate student who demonstrates significant talent and ability as a creative writer (fiction, poetry, drama, and/or creative nonfiction). 

Deadline: 5 p.m. November 20 Annually 

Green Wyrick Creative Writing Quivira Scholarship

Created in honor of former faculty member and Quivira advisor, Professor Green Wyrick, this annual award honors students who demonstrate talent in the fields of fiction and poetry writing. Award amount varies by term.

Deadline: 5 p.m. November 20 Annually

AWP Intro Journals Awards 

Nominated works for this award will receive final consideration for publication in participating journals.  Both graduates and undergraduates are eligible for consideration.  Three poems, one short fiction, and one essay/creative nonfiction may be chosen to represent ESU eligible creative writers. 

Deadline: 5 p.m. November 20 Annually