Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

School of Business - Business Alliance


School of Business Council of Advisors include prominent business professionals and public figures from Kansas and across the country.

The council represents a wide cross section of leadership.  Members and former members include governors of Kansas, past president of Dillon's supermarket chain, the past president of Schering Laboratories, a vice chairman of Black and Veatch, the president and COO of Sprint, and many other company presidents, directors, partners, attorneys and government leaders.

The council meets once a year to address issues of importance to the School of Business and to provide insight and help with assessing the School's programs and activities.

The Dean meets with some members individually throughout the year to provide additional opportunities for members to become better acquainted with the School and provide feedback.

The members of the SBCA have been instrumental in raising funds for the School. This group considers and responds regularly to the appropriateness of the School of Business mission and other strategic decisions.


Students getting advice
Students taking notes
Students conversing
High fives

Current Advisors

Name Title Organization
Gary Allerheiligen Office Managing Partner (Retired) Grant Thornton LLP
Diane Beatty General Manager - Financial Services ConocoPhillips
Rick Beach Vice Chairman INTRUST Bank
Brad Cochennet   Four Corners Heart Clinic
Bryan P. Collins Senior Vice President Collective Brands, Inc.
Harry W. Craig III   Foley Equipment
Dale Davis President Sauder Custom Fabrication
Paul F. DeBauge President (retired) DeBauge Bros., Inc.
John B. Dicus President and CEO Capitol Federal Savings
Tom Docking Partner Morris, Laing, Evans, Brock & Kennedy, Chtd
Ed Eilert Former Mayor City of Overland Park
Russell Everhart CEO and Founder Retail Media Now
Steven K. Fitzwater Executive VP, COO, CFO, Secretary (retired) LabOne, Inc.
Dale Gibbens Vice President of Human Resources Koch Industries, Inc.
Bill Graves President American Trucking Assoc. (ATA)
Cory Haag Director of Operations Haag Management, Inc.
Don Hazlett President Hazlett & Hazlett, Inc.
Jerry Hedrick Managing Partner Capitol Consulting
Kieth Hiesterman Consultant  
Jim Kessler President Modern Air
Craig P. Kuckelman Kansas City Tax Managing Partner Deloitte Tax LLP
Don Landoll Chairman Landoll Corporation
Ralph Laster Private Investor  
Teresa Martin Vice President – Producer Lockton Companies, Inc.
Jason C. McClelland Vice President, Sales and Marketing ABZ Valve
Curtis McClinton President McClinton Development Co., Inc.
John D. McPherson President and COO (retired) Florida East Coast Railway
Bob Palmer Human Resources Director Flint Hills Resources
Kim Pember General Manager Glendo/GRS Corporation
Arthur C. Piculell, Jr. President The Piculell Group, Inc.
John C. Prather Vice President, Corporate Relations Groendyke Transport, Inc.
Bob Purinton Partner Purinton, Chance and Mills, LLC
Carl Ricketts Executive Vice President Capitol Federal Savings
Calvin T. Roberts   Cal Roberts & Associates
Steve Sauder Chairman of the Board of Managers ValuNet
Janet Schalansky President and CEO (retired) Kansas Children's Service League
James Schwartzburg Executive Vice President F & L Manufacturing
Gary Sherrer Former Lieutenant Governor State of Kansas
Jan M. Steinert Sr. Manager - Global Infrastructure & Operations Spirit AeroSystems
Gary Tenpenny President Family Wealth Counseling
Ron Thornburgh Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing NIC
Susan Thomas President and CEO Trainer Communications
Nestor R. Weigand, Jr. Chairman and CEO J.P. Weigand & Sons, Inc.
Richard Zahn President (Retired) Schering Laboratories