Sports Highlights


Remembering the Dream Season

Brian Robinson (BGS 1995), his wife Brenda (Windle) Robinson (BSE 1988, MS 1995), and their son Luke watch at center court as Robinson's No. 41 jersey is retired at William Lindsay White auditorium.The most wins in the history of Emporia State’s men’s basketball program. The most points. A 31-5 record and a conference championship.

Even though 25 years has passed since ESU’s ‘Dream Season,’ memories of the 1985-86 team remain strong in the hearts of players, coaches and fans alike.

Team members and their coach, Ron Slaymaker, were honored at halftime of the ESU men’s game against Fort Hays State Feb. 26 at White Auditorium. Brian Robinson’s No. 41 jersey was retired as part of the celebration, prompting him to recall some of those memories. Teammate Wilbur Reeser’s jersey was retired at a similar ceremony a month earlier.

“Playing for Coach Slaymaker and also playing for the group of guys behind me and just the memories of messing around that court with that ball and winning those games,” Robinson said. “And some of them we thought we’d never win but we did.”

“It was just kind of a dream team and my contribution was that I was just smart enough to stay out of their road because they were all leaders,” Slaymaker said.


Lady Hornets retire Boston’s jersey

Cassondra BostonAlthough she’s more likely to be seen on the sidelines in her new role as graduate assistant coach, Cassondra Boston earned one more moment in the White Auditorium spotlight this winter. Boston’s jersey was retired in a Jan. 15 ceremony at halftime of the women’s game.

The fourth-highest scorer in the history of women’s basketball at ESU, Boston earned the MIAA Player of the Year award en route to helping her team win the 2010 NCAA Division II National Championship.


2010 ESU Athletics Hall of Honor Inductees

Six individuals and a national semi-finalist men's basketball team were inducted into the ESU Athletic Hall of Honor as part of Homecoming 2010 festivities.  The inductees will join a group of 159 former student-athletes, coaches and administrators and nine teams distinguishing themselves, the university and their professions through their athletic achievement.

  • Athletics Hall of HonorTara (Holloway) Churchill, Women's Basketball, 1996-2000
  • Leon Lett, Football 1989-90
  • Lester McCoy, Football/Basketball, 1997-2001
  • Russ Meyer, Baseball, 1965-68
  • Laura Rand, Women’s Track & Field, 1993-96
  • Janell (Smith) Carson, Track & Field, 1965-69
  • 1964 Men's Basketball team