Through the Years




Midland University, Fremont, Neb., has established an endowed scholarship for student athletes in honor of Dr. Dale (BSE’49, MS’55) and Rita (BSE’53) Pennybaker, Lawrence. The couple taught and coached at Midland for eight years.



Vaughn Nelson (BSE’57), Round Rock, Texas, retired from West Texas A&M University in July 2010.  He has recently developed an online course in renewable energy and has published a book titled Introduction to Renewable Energy (CRC Press, 2011).

Judith Weigand Day-Trenary (BS’57, MS’76), Arkansas City, has been nominated to the 2011 class of Kansas Teachers’ Hall of Fame.  She has been teaching in the Arkansas City school district for 37 years as an elementary school teacher, a Kansas Reading Specialist, and a Reading Recovery teacher.

Dr. Marlow Ediger (BS’58, MA’60), North Newton, was reappointed as a member of the External Examination Committee to appraise doctoral theses for Alagappa University and also for Nagarjuna University, both in India. 



Dr. Sandra (Warner) (BSE’60, MA’65) and Dr. K. Lyle Froese (BSE’60, MA’64), McKinney, Texas, celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary in September of 2010.

Dr. Gary Peer (MS’67), Stephenville, Texas, recently retired as Provost/VPAA at Tarleton State University, after 48 years in the field of education. He has also been named a 2010 Distinguished Alumni Fellow by Washburn University.

William R. Brinkler (BSE’69, MS’74), Shawnee, was awarded the 2010 Technician of the Year Award by the National Electronic Association at their annual international convention.  He is a CETma at Commenco Communications.



Nelda J. Elder (MLS’70), Manhattan, retired from Kansas State University Libraries on January 2, 2011, after 36 years of service.

Janet (Painter) Schalansky (BA’72, MS’73), Topeka, retired as President/CEO of Kansas Children’s Service League on May 15, 2011.

Darene StreetDarene Street (BME’73, MS’74), Lenexa, (left) recently visited China on a trip sponsored by Columbia University, with the National Consortium for Teaching About Asia (NCTA).  She spent two weeks visiting schools in Xian, Wuhan, and Beijing.  She teaches Humanities and Orchestra in grades 5-8. 

Richard E. Nitsch (BSE’76), Prairie Village, retired from the FBI on April 30, 2010.

Deb Wheeler (BSE’76, MS’80), Towanda, has been elected to the El Dorado (USD 490) Board of Education.  She is currently a guidance counselor at Circle High School.

Milton H. Siegele, Jr. (BA’77), Colleyville, Texas, led a church mission trip to Port Au Prince, Haiti, where the team worked and taught in Cite Soleil.



Sean O’Connor (BS’84), Overland Park, has been appointed the Vice President of Sales and Marketing for SeraCare Life Sciences.

Andrea (Flanders) Bell (BS’89, MS’91), Erie, Colo., was selected by her peers as the Supervision Officer of the Year for the District of Colorado.  Bell specializes in the supervision of high risk drug offenders and has been employed in the Federal Probation System since 1992. 

Jeremy KohombanJeremy Kohomban (BS’89), Pawling, N.Y., (left) received the 2011 Samuel Gerson Nordlinger Child Welfare Leadership Award, presented by the Alliance for Children and Families. The award recognizes significant impacts on public opinion and awareness about children’s issues and services. Kohomban is President and CEO of The Children’s Village, Dobbs Ferry, NY.



David Hendricks (BSB’90), Emporia, was elected to serve on the Kansas Masonic Foundation Board of Trustees. Dave is the director of ESU’s Memorial Union.

Gina L. Zimmerman (BSE’93), Edgerton, was named USD 231 Teacher of the Year.  She is a 3rd grade teacher at Edgerton Elementary School.

Kenneth G. Palmer (BSB’94), Wichita, has accepted a position as the Master Scheduler for Hendrickson Trailer and Suspension in Mitchell, SD.

T. Kipp Clark (MS’95), Scottsdale, Ariz., has accepted the position of boys’ head basketball coach for Horizon High School.

Elizabeth ‘Liz’ (Skolaut) Schmidt (BSE’97, MS’01), Lubbock, Texas, was named the Bennett Elementary School (Wolfforth, Texas) teacher of the year for 2009-10.   She is currently a Kindergarten teacher there.

Ethan Schmidt (BA’98, MS’01), Lubbock, Texas, received the President’s Excellence in Teaching Award at Texas Tech University, one of the highest honors given to Texas Tech faculty to recognize their efforts in teaching.  He is currently in his fourth year as an Assistant Professor in the History department.  Schmidt also recently finished a two-year term as Director of Graduate Studies at Texas Tech.



Teresa (Baker) Hodges (BSB’05), Wellsville, passed the CPA exam on December 22, 2010.

Rachel Parris (BS’05), Lubbock, Texas, recently graduated from Kansas State University with her Doctorate in Veterinary Medicine.

Larry Carver (MS’07), Hutchinson, retired as Director of Virtual Learning & Instructional Technology at Hutchinson Community College on June 30, 2010.

Miranda ‘Mandy’ DeWitt (BFA’07), Lenexa, accepted a new position as Baker University’s Enrollment Representative. 

Rachel Lane (BS’09), Emporia, was awarded the 2011 Reynold T. Iwamoto Scholarship for academic performance at the KU Chemistry Honors Reception.



Mohamad Abdalla (MA’10), Sacramento, Calif., has been increasing enrollment as the new Principal of Salam Academy Preschool.  Not only has Mr. Abdalla been thriving in his new position, but he has been orating at several large events in the Sacramento area.



Dr. Joseph Novak (FF), Tarpon Springs, Fla., has written a book titled Learning, Creating, and Using Knowledge, which was published in 2010.