Around Hornet Nation


Emporia ConnectionEmporia Connection reunites in April

Emporia Connection reunion time was this past April 8 – 9 on the ESU campus. The group meets every two years to reconnect with friends over a series of social gatherings. This year, a panel discussed the history of African Americans at ESU, and a Saturday evening reception and dinner featured Angela Bates, a descendent of the settlers of Nicodemus, the historic all-African American settlement in north-central Kansas.

Ronald (BSE’74) and Debra (BSE’72) Wynn, Winthrop Harbor, Ill., joined Nadine Terry Washington (BS’84) for the event, which attracted approximately 50 alumni and friends.


KTHFMini-reunion at KTHF induction in Dodge City

While Emporia is the home of the National Teachers Hall of Fame, Dodge City is home to the Kansas Teachers’ Hall of Fame. ESU is proud of that Hornets were well-represented in Dodge during the June 4 induction.

The group included (left to right) Dennis Doris (BS’64, MS’68), KTHF director; Stan Roth (BSE’57, MS’59), 2011 inductee; Curtis Chandler (MS’08), 2011 Kansas Teacher of the Year; Ken Bingman (MS’66) a past KTHF and NTHF member; and Judy Weigand Day-Trenary (BS’58, MS’76,EdS’84), 2011 KTHF inductee.

Award Nominations

Recognizing the individuals and families who have made Emporia State University the premier institution it is today is an important function for the Alumni Association.

Now is the time to let us know about those folks! Honor them with a nomination for a Distinguished Alumni award or University Service Citation.

Or, consider throwing your name into the pool as a member of the Alumni Association board of directors.

Nomination deadlines are:

Oct. 1 – Distinguished Alumni

Oct. 1 – University Service Citation

Dec. 1 – Alumni Association Board

For more information, contact Laurie Pitman, Alumni Association administrative officer, or (620) 341-6469.