Skip to content
Toggle Left Side Navigation

The Dwight and Ida Curry Newberg Outstanding and Distinguished Senior Awards

Nominations are always welcome!

Nominations for 2019 are now closed.
If you are submitting a recommendation letter for a nominee
please email it to or
drop it in Campus Mail to Attn: Tiffany Wilson, Box 47
About the Newberg award

The Outstanding and Distinguished Senior awards are named in honor of Dwight (BSE 1933) and Ida Curry Newberg (LC 1932), who provided endowed funds for the awards. The fund was of particular interest to Dwight, as he received the Outstanding Senior award in 1933. The award later was discontinued, but was reestablished in 1988 through the generosity of the Newbergs. Dwight Newberg died in 1996. Ida Curry Newberg died in 2001.

Dwight was a special agent for the FBI for more than 30 years, serving under J. Edgar Hoover in Washington, D.C. He retired in 1965, and became the national program director for the United Methodist Church until 1977. Ida was a primary school teacher in Otis and Junction City.

In order to be selected for the Newberg Outstanding Senior and Newberg Distinguished Senior awards, students must be nominated by an ESU faculty or staff member. Nominees are asked to submit information about their accomplishments during their time at ESU, as well as letters of recommendation. Please note that nominees must be graduating this calendar year and must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5. A committee made up of students, staff, and faculty then selects the Newberg Outstanding Senior and Newberg Distinguished Senior.

The Newberg Outstanding Senior receives a plaque and a $500 award. The Newberg Distinguished Senior receives a plaque along with a $200 award. Past winners are listed below.


 andy-renteria_40384750805_o  grayce-mcallister_40567225934_o

2018 Outstanding Senior
Andy Renteria

2018 Distinguished Senior
Grayce McAllister

    Outstanding Senior Recipients                    Distinguished Senior Recipients              

2018 Andy Renteria Grayce McAllister
2017 Christopher Alderman Brandon Schrader
2016 Sarah Harrington Janet Weaver
2015 Nakita Elwood Abigail Black
2014 Devan Boeger Amy Bretches
2013 Alexandra Crowe Tess Hobson
  2012 Eden Tullis Jianlei Chen
  2011 Ashley McCullough  Alli Jordan
  2010 Jonathan Krueger  Jeremy Walter
  2009 Taylor Relph  Michelle Hernandez
  2008 Andrea Luthi  Lindsay Davis
  2007 Corrine Samskey  Tiara Naputi
  2006 Brett Bruner  Kristen Larson
  2005 Theresa Holderbach  Kelley Davis
  2004 Ryan Diehl  Sarah Dent
  2003 Leah Childers  Sarah Crum
  2002 Breanna Flynn  Kaci Adams
  2001 Aaron Bauck  Tyler Curtis & Kimberly Grooms
  2000 Robin Clarke  
  1999 Martha Bleeker  
  1998 Alisa Rapp  Ethan Schmidt
  1997 Blythe Eddy  
  1996 Neil Anderson  
  1995 Dan Hubert  
  1994 John A. Blaufuss, Jr.  
  1993 Mirah Dow  
  1992 Jeannette Gilvkey  
  1991 Sherry Truhlar  
  1990 Jill Steiner  
  1989 Kevin Darter  
  1988 Terri (Hallman) McQueen  
  1987 Shirl (Nichols) Besinger  
  1986 Barbara Applegarth Eckols  
  1985 Brian Viets  
  1984 Cindy Fundis Smith  
  1983 Cora Zaletal Hedstrom  
  1982 Joyce Weninger Didde  
  1981 David Weeda  
  1980 Sandra Wiggins Burton