Skip to main content

Jean Shanelec Memorial Scholarship

For students from Ellsworth or Rice County

The Jean Shanelec Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to students from Ellsworth County or Rice County, Kansas, who have exhibited both the academic skills necessary to be successful at Emporia State University and the leadership skills necessary to be a productive member of society.  This scholarship will be initially awarded to incoming freshman or transfer students and may be renewed so long as the student maintains a 3.0 GPA for up to an additional three years.

Jean Shanelec loved to learn, she loved to teach and she loved Emporia State University. She attended Emporia State University (then Kansas State Teachers College) and graduated with a BS in Education in 1947. Jean chose teaching as a career and brought a creative, enthusiastic, and unique approach to the classroom. While teaching, she earned a Master’s degree and became a specialist in both reading and learning disabilities. Outside the classroom, Jean was an accomplished actor and public speaker, not to mention wife, mother, and grandmother.

Scholarship Criteria:

  • Student must be:
    • From Ellsworth County, KS or;
    • From Rice County, KS

This is scholarship is available for incoming freshmen or transfer students at ESU. Deadline: February 28, 2020

Download the application here: Jean Shanelec Memorial Scholarship.pdf