Skip to content

School Leadership / Middle and Secondary Teacher Education

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Dan Stiffler

Dr. Dan Stiffler, Department Chair, joined the Department of School Leadership/Middle and Secondary Teacher Education in June, 2014. He has worked in both urban and rural school districts in Kansas, serving as superintendent, assistant superintendent, elementary principal, curriculum coordinator, fine arts director, and personnel director. In addition, Dan has experience as an adjunct college professor, educational consultant, presenter, and clinician in Kansas and the Midwest.

Phone:  620-341-5776


Dr. Nancy Albrecht


Dr. Nancy Albrecht, Professor, joined the ESU faculty in 2001. She teaches graduate students in school leadership and curriculum instruction and is a director of a federal professional development ESL grant. Prior to coming to ESU, she was a high school principal and teacher and has taught internationally in Germany. She was District I Principal of the Year awarded by the Kansas Association of Secondary Schools Principal Association.

Phone:  620-341-5775


Dr. Bland

Dr. Paul D. Bland, Associate Professor, earned Bachelor's and Master's degrees from Fort Hays State University and was a teacher and coach for eleven years in Kansas public schools. He earned a PhD in Curriculum and Instruction from Kansas State University. He served as coordinator for secondary education at Lindsey Wilson College in Columbia, Kentucky and Director of Teacher Education and Department Chair at Sterling College in Sterling, Kansas. He is a member of Phi Delta Kappa, Phi Kappa Phi, the Kansas Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, and the American Legion.

Phone:  620-341-5078



Dr. Edwin Church, Associate Professor

Phone: 620-341-5742



Dr. Kirsten Limpert

Dr. Kirsten Limpert, Director of the Alternate Route Program, earned a Bachelor's degree from Concordia College in Moorhead, MN, a Master's degree in Education from the University of Minnesota and a Ph.D. in Educational Administration from the University of Tulsa in Oklahoma.  She taught high school for 17 years, secondary methods and masters classes at Emporia State University for six years prior to becoming director of the alternate route restricted license program in 2008.  Dr. Limpert also spent ten years in private school administration.  In 1998, Dr. Limpert was chosen for the Teachers College Excellence in Instruction award.  She is on the State Board for Alternate Route Licensure, a member of the National Association for Alternative Certification and a member of Kansas Association of Teacher Educators. 

Phone: 620-341-5654



Dr. Mingchu (Neal) Luo, Assistant Professor

Phone:  620-341-5835


Dr. Steve Neill

Dr. Steve Neill, Associate Professor, is a 2002 addition to the Teachers College faculty. He is currently teaching classroom management in both our undergraduate and graduate programs and is the Field Experience Coordinator for teacher preparation. He also teaches a graduate course in educational research and directs the scoring of the Teacher Work Sample. He received his BSED from Pittsburg State with a major in History, his MSED in Secondary Education from Wichita State and his ED.D in Educational Administration from Wichita State. His previous experience includes nineteen years as a high school teacher at Hesston, Concordia and Sumner Academy of Arts and Science and nine years as a building administrator at Burrton, Tonganoxie and Douglass. In 2001, Steve was recognized as KASSP District 4 Principal of the Year and he holds memberships in KASSP, NASSP, USA, Pi Kappa Pi, and Phi Delta Kappa.

Phone: 620-341-5215


Dr. Michael Shimeall, Associate Professor, joined the Educational Leadership Department in 2013, after having served as a teacher and administrator in a variety of school districts in Kansas and Nebraska. He has also taught in an adjunct capacity for the University of Nebraska - Kearney for several years. Dr. Shimeall holds his baccalaureate degree in history from Sterling College and a masters degree in history from Emporia State University. His Ed.D and Educational Specialist degrees are from the University of Nebraska - Lincoln. In 2008, he was selected Region I Superintendent of the Year by the Nebraska Council of School Administrators.  The district was honored as a "Blue Ribbon School of Excellence" by the U.S. Department of Education. He is currently serving on the Nebraska Council for Teacher Education and is president of Southeast Nebraska Distant Learning Contract, a consortium of fifty-seven school districts and partners who work together to provide enhanced learning opportunities for their students.

Phone:  620-341-5742


Dr. Will

Dr. Jerry D. Will is a professor and joined the faculty in June of 1997, and has 22 years of experience as an administrator and teacher. Dr. Will served as superintendent of schools at Burlingame U.S.D. 454 from 1991 to 1997, superintendent of schools at Centre U.S.D. 397 from 1985 to 1991, and building principal at Larned U.S.D. 495 from 1979 to 1985. He taught in a self-contained classroom on the Sioux Indian Reservation in North Dakota and in an open-classroom in Charles City, Iowa. Dr. Will received his Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from Kansas State University, a Specialist in Education Administration from Fort Hays State University, a Masters of Arts in Building Level Administration from the University of Northern Iowa, and a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education from Dickinson State University in North Dakota. Dr. Will served on the state-wide Council of Superintendents for two years. Dr. Will has served as a guest lecturer and presented several workshops on effective class discipline and classroom management. Dr. Will is a member of KASA, USA, AASA, and KACD.

Phone: 620-341-5777

Megan O’Brien, Graduate Student Advisor,

Missy Nurnberger, Administrative Assistant,

Phone #:  620-341-5776

Fax #: 620-341-5768

Hours:  8:00 AM to 5:00 PM