Department: School of Business

Semi-finalists chosen to move forward in next round of entrepreneur competition

March 26, 2015

The first round of the Emporia Entrepreneur Challenge has been completed with 20 of the 38 teams moving onto the next round. The venture idea competition, hosted by the School of Business at Emporia State University, is open to students at both Emporia State and Flint Hills Technical College.

The 20 semi-finalists will have under a month to refine their business concepts and prepare for an oral presentation to a panel of judges during the first week of April. All competing teams will be invited to participate in a community concept fair on April 21 at Emporia State to showcase their business concepts. During this event judges will determine the top three teams who will be asked to give a pitch to decide on first, second and third place. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top three teams, $4,000 for first, $2,000 for second and $1,000 for third.

Dr. Nathan Woolard, assistant professor in the School of Business, has been instrumental in the logistics of this year’s competition.

“I am excited to see the number of students that submitted concepts this year,” said Woolard. “After reviewing the business plans, it is refreshing to see so many civically minded students and innovators that understand the value of entrepreneurialism and ingenuity. The next round will be very competitive for the semi-finalists.”

Teams moving on are: (Team numbers do not reflect rankings)

  • Team 12: Marcus Houghton, ESU
  • Team 24: Seth Miller, ESU
  • Team 33 Bryce Dakin and Tyson Johnson, FHTC
  • Team 8: Casey Cagle, FHTC
  • Team 18 Janet Rice, and Beth Walker, ESU          
  • Team 28: Brittian Moore, ESU   
  • Team 29: Jessica Hamrick, ESU
  • Team 19: Derek Parris, ESU         
  • Team 32: Dustin Bosse, ESU
  • Team 38: Timothy Gogolski, FHTC
  • Team 2: Chelsea Ingram, ESU
  • Team 34: WonJoon Heo and Sookhyun Jo, ESU  
  • Team 1: Donald Wilcox, ESU
  • Team 27: Geoffrey Cross, ESU
  • Team 16: Rudyard Paine, ESU
  • Team 36: James Bowlin, ESU      
  • Team 10: Jordan Hennigh and Daisy Duarte, ESU
  • Team 13: Tamer Abdullah, ESU
  • Team 23: Seth Akpovona, ESU   
  • Team 25: XiangLi and Jiapeng Huang, ESU