Diana Kuhlmann Named Interim VP for Administration and Finance

December 1, 2016

Diana Kuhlmann will serve as interim vice president for administration and finance beginning in mid-January. Kuhlmann will take over after current vice president, Werner Golling, moves to a similar position at Wichita State University.

Golling, who started at Emporia State on July 1, 2014, will serve as vice president for finance and administration at WSU.

“I’ve enjoyed my time at Emporia State immensely and will miss my many wonderful colleagues and friends at the university and in the community,” Golling said. “The WSU position is a great career opportunity.”

“Although many see this vice president role as mainly a ‘numbers position,’ Werner and his team have overseen many aspects of campus during his tenure,” said Allison Garrett, ESU president. “Under his leadership, ESU has completed several campus renovation projects including classrooms and laboratories, the HPER building, several learning commons and the library.”

The transition should be smooth, Garrett added, noting that Kuhlmann has 23 years of experience at Emporia State in the budget and finance areas. Kuhlmann currently is associate vice president for finance and director of the budget office.

“I have tremendous confidence in Diana’s ability to lead these key areas and look forward to working closely with her,” Garrett said.

“I am humbled and excited to serve as the interim vice president, building on the excellent work that Werner has accomplished in his time here,” said Kuhlmann. “I will continue endeavoring to positively impact the university through the contributions of the administration and finance areas.”


University Closed, Foundation Open During Holidays

December 16, 2016

When the clock hits noon on Friday, Dec. 23, 2016, Emporia State University offices will close for the holidays. The campus will re-open at 8 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 3, 2017. During the break, offices and...

Commencement Ceremonies Planned for Saturday

December 11, 2016

Nearly 550 students are candidates for degrees during winter commencement at Emporia State University on Saturday, Dec. 17. Undergraduates will receive their degrees during baccalaureate ceremonies ...

ESU wins “Don’t Text #Just Drive” contest

November 29, 2016

Emporia State University received the highest number of votes by percentage of students enrolled to win the initial

ESU Ambassadors Named

November 21, 2016

New Ambassadors have been named by Alumni Relations. The 2017 ESU Ambassadors are: Abby Githens Junior Manhattan, KS Abraham Ruffcorn Sophomore Basehor, Ks Addy Pruett Freshman ...

Emporia State Mourns the Passing of John 'Doc' Baxter

November 4, 2016

John "Doc" Baxter, longtime athletic trainer at Emporia State, passed away on Thursday night at Aldersgate Village in Topeka. "John Baxter helped mold the culture of Hornet Athletics through his work ...

I'm A Hornet from President Allison Garrett

November 3, 2016

Our Sunken Garden fountain received a new look this fall, taking it back more like the original fountain. New stone benches near the fountain complete the facelift. For the first year, the ESU campus...

Sauder Alumni Center Celebrates 25th Anniversary

October 20, 2016



Achievement - Emporia State University

Check out our students' achievements and accomplishments on Emporia State's meritpages.com site