ASG EventASG Event

What is Associated Student Government? 

ASG is the governing body of the Associated Students which is composed of all graduate and undergraduate students of Emporia State University. Our purposes are listed below and focus on providing a voice for the Associated Students. ASG is composed of a President and Vice-Preisdent, the President Pro-Tempore, a Public Relations Director, a Legislative Director, a Treasurer, an Election Commissioner, an Executive Assistant, and the Student Senate.    


  • To provide the means whereby the members of the student body may express themselves effectively through programs in areas which directly affect the general welfare of the student body in any aspect of the university experience in which they choose to participate.
  • To establish equitable representation and participation for the students in the governance of the university community.
  • To promote mutually beneficial cooperation among students, faculty, staff, and administration in furthering the purposes for which the university was founded.
  • To promote democratic participation in the decisions of the university community.
  • To provide services of notable benefit to the Associated Students.


The Student Senate is composed of 23 Senators who represent their academic schools or colleges including those who have not declared a major and at large members of the University. 

2014-2015 Senators

College fo Liberal Arts and Sciences

Senator Williams Senator CarrilloSenator Hicks Senator HernandezSenator Castro

 Elijah Williams  Clarissa Carrillo Paige Hicks Arisvet Hernandez Ana Lucia Castro 

The Teachers College

Senator HullSenator Dorian Senator Weaver Senator Bargdill Senator Schrader

 Alex Hull          Kate Dorian     Janet Weaver  Miranda Bargdill  Brandon Shrader

School of Business 

Senator Buenger Senator Dickinson Senator Campbell Senator Palmer

Chris Buenger  Chance Dickinson    Cody Campbell       Luke Palmer

Graduate School (1 open seat)

Senator Rice Senator White

Jessica Rice         Emily White 

Undeclared Students- (2 open seats)

Senator Marten

Shelby Marten 

At Large Students

Senator Bailey Senator Huachaca Senator Moustafa

Brooke Bailey      Jhon Huachaca     Mohamed Moustafa 

Staff Members 

Public Relations  Legislative Director Treasurer Executive Assistant 

Michael Wilson Steven Fox Matt Haefele Executive Assistance

Michael Wilson Steven Fox Matt Haefele Mikala Sharlow 


Fiscal Affairs: The Fiscal Affairs Committee is responsible for administering funds delegated to the Associated Student Government. This includes all matters concerning allocation of student fees, setting limits for all allocations to organizations, reviewing readjustments in use of allocation money with organizations, and notifying organizations of available funds for fiscal allocations, all matters pertaining to reserve fund requests, and all matters pertaining to line item requests.

Senate Operations: The Senate Operations Committee is responsible for reviewing and updating the constitution and all other ASG policies or procedures, any other matter pertaining to the operations of the Student Senate, assisting the Vice President in assembling and publishing the legislative summary, holding and overseeing the ASG elections in conjunction with the Election Commissioner, and overseeing the creation of new student organizations.

Campus and Community Relations: The Campus and Community Relations Committee is responsible for the connection of Associated Student Government to both the Emporia State campus and the Emporia community. This includes the promotion and assistance in any events that could further the mission of the Associated Student Government. The committee will oversee the campus safety walk, the ASG banquet, and cash cab.  

2014-2015 MEETINGS

Our group of Senators are here to serve YOU, the student. What better way to hear your voice and learn more about ASG than to attend one of our OPEN Senate meetings? These meetings occur every other Thursday at 5:15pm on the 3rd floor of the Memorial Union in the Senate Chambers. These meetings are open for ANYONE to go to, and we'd love to have you as a guest in the gallery.

The fall meeting dates are as follows:

  • August 27th
  • September 10th
  • September 24th
  • October 8th
  • October 22nd
  • November 5th
  • November 19th