KANSAS MASTER TEACHER AWARD

1954



TUESDAY, APRIL 27, 1954
KANSAS STATE TEACHERS COLLEGE
EMPORIA, KANSAS

The Kansas Master Teacher Award is presented annually to seven teachers, chosen by the Selection Committee, who have served the teaching profession long and well and who typify the good qualities of the vast body of earnest and conscientious teachers. Members of the Selection Committee are Mrs. Nell Renn, President of the Kansas Division of the American Association of University Women; C. O. Wright, Executive Secretary of the Kansas State Teachers Association; Adel F. Throckmorton, State Superintendent of Public Instruction; and F. L. Schlagle, Superintendent of the Kansas City, Kansas, Schools. The local committee is composed of President John E. King, Dr. Orville L. Eaton, Dr. Everett Rich, and Dr. Don E. Davis, chairman.

PROGRAM

PRESIDENT JOHN E. KING, PRESIDING

10:00 a.m. All-School Convocation

"What Is a Good Teacher?"

Dr. Walter W. Cook

Dean of the School of Education

University of Minnesota

12:15 p.m. Luncheon, Student Union Building

2:00 p.m. Educational Forums

Room 203 Adm., Alex Daughtry and Wanda Barb, Co-chairmen

Room 206 Adm., Ruth Otterstrom and Sherman Bowman, Co-chairmen

Room 207 Adm., Kathryn Whitten and Don Ingwerson, Co-chairmen

Room 208 Adm., Roy Durham and Lila Miller, Cochairmen

6:00 p.m. Dinner, Student Union Ballroom

"Some Adventures and Rewards of a Life of Teaching"

Dr. John Rufi College of Education University of Missouri

Presentation of Awards